Society of Professional Journalists
Improving and protecting journalism since 1909

Advertise with SPJ

News and More
Click to Expand Instantly

SPJ News
Events and Deadlines
SPJ Blogs
Quill Online
Journalist's Toolbox

Stay in Touch
Twitter Storify Facebook Google Plus
RSS Pinterest Pinterest Flickr

All Awards
Sigma Delta Chi
Mark of Excellence
New America Award
Foundation Awards

Contact Awards Coordinator Abbi Martzall via email or by phone 317/927-8000, ext. 210.

Home > Awards > Regional Director of the Year

Regional Director of the Year

Postmark deadline for nominations: April 17

The Regional Director of the Year Award honors individuals serving as an SPJ regional director for outstanding service to the region and the national organization during the preceding year. Only one award may be presented in any given year.

Download nomination form
Click here to download the nomination form.

2014 Honoree
Andy Schotz, Region 2 Director
Read press release

Previous winners
2013 Brian Eckert, Region 2 Director
2012 Dana Neuts, Region 10 Director
2011 Brian Eckert, Region 2 Director
2010 John Ensslin, Region 9 Director
2009 Darcie Lunsford, Region 3 Director
2008 Ann Augherton, Region 2 Director
2007 Ron Sylvester, Region 7 Director
2006 Carl Corry, Region 1 Director
2005 Dave Aeikens, Region 6 Director
2004 Dave Aeikens, Region 6 Director
2003 Holly Fisher, Region 3 Director
2002 Irwin Gratz, Region 1 Director


Nominees must be an SPJ regional director. SPJ chapters or members are permitted to submit nominations. Selection is based primarily on recommendation letters but will quality of annual reports in the nominee’s region will also be considered.


Nomination form should be accompanied by a letter(s) of recommendation that addresses why the nominee is deserving of this national recognition.

Submit all nomination materials unbound on 8 1/2 x 11 paper. Additional supporting materials are welcomed and should be limited to 10 pages.

Winner Announcement and Presentation

Winner will be announced and honored at President’s Installation Banquet at the SPJ National Convention.


Nominations must be postmarked on or before April 17.

Nominations should be mailed, faxed or e-mailed to:

Regional Director Award
Society of Professional Journalists
3909 N. Meridian St.
Indianapolis, IN 46208
Fax: 317/920-4789

For More Information

Contact SPJ Headquarters by calling 317-927-8000 or e-mailing us.

Copyright © 1996-2015 Society of Professional Journalists. All Rights Reserved. Legal

Society of Professional Journalists
Eugene S. Pulliam National Journalism Center
3909 N. Meridian St.
Indianapolis, IN 46208
317/927-8000 | Fax: 317/920-4789

Contact SPJ Headquarters
Employment Opportunities
Advertise with SPJ