Twitter Facebook Google Plus Pinterest Storify
Society of Professional Journalists
Improving and protecting journalism since 1909

Advertise with SPJ

News and More
Click to Expand Instantly

SPJ News
Events and Deadlines
SPJ Blogs
Quill Online
Journalist's Toolbox

Stay in Touch
Twitter Storify Facebook Google Plus
RSS Pinterest Pinterest Flickr

All Awards
Sigma Delta Chi
Mark of Excellence
New America Award
Foundation Awards

Contact Awards Coordinator Abbi Martzall via email or by phone 317/927-8000, ext. 210.

Home > Awards > David Eshelman Outstanding Campus Adviser Award

David Eshelman Outstanding Campus Adviser Award

Deadline for nominations: April 17

The Outstanding Campus Chapter Adviser Award, initiated in 1978, is presented annually to the person who has made an exceptional contribution to the campus chapter for which he or she serves as SPJ adviser.

2015 Honoree
Nerissa Young,
Ohio University

Read press release

Prior Winners
2014   Chris Delboni, Florida International University
2013   Mike Reilley, DePaul University
2012   Jenny Wohlfarth
2011   Mead Loop
2010   No honoree
2009   Beth Konrad
2008   Dr. Kathleen Wickham
2007   Rick Brunson
2006   No Award
2005   Ernest Wiggins, University of South Carolina
2004   Dr. George Keeler, University of La Verne
2003   Dr. Richard Johns, University of Iowa
2002   Sue Kopen Katcef, University of Maryland
2001   Charles Davis, University of Missouri
1999   Neil Ralston, Truman State University
1998   Sree Sreenivasan, Columbia University

In 1993, the SPJ board voted to change the award name to the David Eshelman Outstanding Campus Adviser Award in order to honor Mr. Eshelman, a longtime member of the Society and Board “Parliamentarian,” who was killed in 1993.


Nominees must be a member of SPJ and serve as a chapter adviser.


Nominations must be made by an SPJ chapter officer. Nomination form should be accompanied by a letter of recommendation from a chapter officer(s) that highlights chapter programing for the prior year, attendance at the Excellence in Journalism Conference/Regional Conference and addresses why the nominee is deserving of this national recognition. Self-nominations are not permitted.

Winner Announcement and Presentation

Winner will be honored at the SPJ National Convention.


All entries should be submitted no later than April 17.

For More Information

Contact SPJ Headquarters at 317-927-8000 or e-mail:

Copyright © 1996-2015 Society of Professional Journalists. All Rights Reserved. Legal

Society of Professional Journalists
Eugene S. Pulliam National Journalism Center
3909 N. Meridian St.
Indianapolis, IN 46208
317/927-8000 | Fax: 317/920-4789

Contact SPJ Headquarters
Employment Opportunities
Advertise with SPJ