Twitter Facebook Google Plus Pinterest Storify
Society of Professional Journalists
Improving and protecting journalism since 1909

Advertise with SPJ
Advertise with SPJ

SPJ Leads

News and More
Click to Expand Instantly

SPJ News
Events and Deadlines
SPJ Blogs
Quill Online
Journalist's Toolbox

Stay in Touch
Twitter Storify Facebook Google Plus
RSS Pinterest Pinterest Flickr

All Awards
Sigma Delta Chi
Mark of Excellence
New America Award
Foundation Awards

Contact Awards Coordinator Abbi Martzall via email or by phone 317/927-8000, ext. 210.

Home > Awards > Ethics in Journalism Awards

Ethics in Journalism Awards
for performing in an outstanding ethical manner

Deadline for nominations: March 20

The Ethics in Journalism Award honors journalists or news organizations that perform in an outstanding ethical manner demonstrating the ideals of the SPJ Code of Ethics. It also honors especially notable efforts to educate the public on principles embodied in the code or hold journalists ethically accountable for their behavior. The Society may present one Ethics in Journalism Award in any given year unless there are no worthy candidates. Nominations are op en. Self-nomination is permitted.

2015 Winners
Samantha Grant and GUSH Productions
Bob Bajek
Douglas Ray and the staff of the Gainesville Sun

Read the Press Release

Previous Winners
2014   Matt Apuzzo, Adam Goldman and Ted Bridis, Associated Press
2013   David Boardman, The Seattle Times
2012   Karen Gadbois, The Lens (New Orleans)
2011   No Award Given
2010   Bill Shory, WBIR-TV
2009   No Award Given
2008   Glen Mabie
2007   No Award Given
2006   Allan M. Siegal, The New York Times
2006   Jerry Roberts, George Foulsham, Don Murphy, Gerry Spratt, Michael Todd, Jane Hulse, Colin Powers, Barney Brantingham, and Scott Hadly, formerly of the Santa Barbara News-Press
2005   No awards made
2004   No awards made
2003   Jordan Rodack, Hurricane Editor, the University of Miami
2002   No awards made
2001   Otis Chandler and the newsroom staff of The Los Angeles Times
2000   No awards made
1999   No awards made
1998   David Broder, The Washington Post
1998   Steve Wilson and Jane Akre, formerly of W-T-V-T, Tampa, Florida
1997   Jerry Ceppos, San Jose Mercury News
1997   Hollis Curl, Wilcox Progress Era, Camden, Alabama
1997   Carol Marin, WBBM-TV, Chicago


Nominations should be accompanied by a letter(s) of recommendation that addresses why the nominee is deserving of this national recognition. Self-nominations are permitted.


All entries should be submitted no later than March 20.

For More Information

Contact SPJ Headquarters at 317/927-8000 or e-mail:

Copyright © 1996-2015 Society of Professional Journalists. All Rights Reserved. Legal

Society of Professional Journalists
Eugene S. Pulliam National Journalism Center
3909 N. Meridian St.
Indianapolis, IN 46208
317/927-8000 | Fax: 317/920-4789

Contact SPJ Headquarters
Employment Opportunities
Advertise with SPJ