Raise your game with Narrative Storytelling for All Media and Beats: 10 Writing Tips I Wish I'd Learned 10 Years Sooner or one of the other workshops we're offering on day one of Excellence in Journalism 2014, which takes place Sept. 4-6 in Nashville. Find out more here.

Society of Professional Journalists
Improving and protecting journalism since 1909

Advertise with SPJ

News and More
Click to Expand Instantly

SPJ News
Events and Deadlines
SPJ Blogs
Quill Online
SPJ on Tumblr
Journalist's Toolbox

Stay in Touch
Twitter Tumblr Facebook Google Plus
RSS Pinterest Pinterest Storify

More SPJ News
Press Notes
SPJ Blogs
SPJ Leads
The EIJ News
Press Notes
SPJ News
Open Doors
Geneva Conventions
Annual FOI Reports

Home > SPJ News > Mark of Excellence winners announced

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

Mark of Excellence winners announced

SPJ News

College students from throughout Indiana, Illinois and Kentucky were honored at the Society of Professional Journalists Region 5 Mark of Excellence Banquet.

The students were the winners of the 1995 Regional Mark of Excellence Contest sponsored by SPJ. Awards were presented in the areas of print, radio and television journalism. The awards banquet was part of the SPJ Indianapolis Writers Workshop and Region 5 Conference.

Winners of the first place awards will go on to compete in the national competition. The national winners will be announced at SPJ's convention, Sept. 19-21, in Washington, D.C.

This year's regional winners are:

Editorial Writing

First place: Aaron Lucchetti, DePauw University

Second place: Brian Fisher, DePauw University

Third place: Leslie Flynn, Western Kentucky University

Editorial Cartooning

First place: Stacy Curtis, Western Kentucky University

Column Writing

First place: Riley Ray Chiroando, DePauw University

Second place: Don Perry, Easter Kentucky University

Third place: Chad Williamson, Eastern Kentucky University

Spot News Reporting

First place: Don Perry, Lanny Brannock and Tim Mollette, Eastern Kentucky University

Second place: Melissa Gagliardi and Kevin Kelly, Western Kentucky University

Third place: Jon Fortt, DePauw University

In-depth Reporting

First place: Staff, The Daily Eastern News

Second place: Jody Arthur, Indiana University-Indianapolis

Third place (tie): Steve Myers, University of Notre Dame, and Cheryl Tan, Northwestern University

Feature Writing

First place: Cheryl Tan, Northwestern University

Second place: Lori Lessner, Northwestern University

Third place: Chris Hutchins, Western Kentucky University

Sports Writing

First place: Jake Schaller, University of Notre Dame

Second place: David Tieche, DePauw University

Third place: Kevin Kelly, Western Kentucky University

Best All-Around Daily Newspaper

First place: The Daily Illini, University of Illinois

Second place: Indiana Daily Student, Indiana University

Best All-Around Non-Daily Newspaper

First place: College Heights Herald, Western Kentucky University

Second place: The DePauw, DePauw University

Non-Fiction Magazine Article

First place: Aimee Agresti, Northwestern University

Second place: Chris Hutchins, Western Kentucky University

Third place: Brian Spears, Western Kentucky University

Best Magazine Published Once A Year

First place: Chicago Arts and Communication Magazine, Columbia College

Best Magazine Published More Than Once A Year

First place: Talisman Xposure, Western Kentucky University

Second place: Expo Magazine, Ball State University

Third place: The Issue, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Spot News Photography

First place: Teak Phillips, Western Kentucky University

Feature Photography

First place: Joseph Ursitti, Illinois Benedictine College

Second place: Teak Phillips, Western Kentucky University

Sports Photography

First place: Jason Clark, Western Kentucky University

Second place: Michael Spivey, DePauw University

Radio Spot News

First place: Kiersten DeBrowner, Southern Illinois University

Second place: Michelle Darrow, University of Illinois

Radio Feature

First place: Ken Barrett, Southern Illinois University

Second place: Margaret Colby, James Bertucci, Chrissie Coffey and Jody Esley, DePauw University

Radio In-Depth Reporting

First place: Renee Shaw, Western Kentucky University

Second place: Mariam Mozayeni, University of Illinois

Third place: Erin Stevens, Silvette Pope, Renae Marsh and Brian Fisher, DePauw University

Television Feature

First place: Julie Sebastian, Northwestern University

Second place: Harrett Schultz, University of Illinois

Third place: Damon Ward and Christopher Kendall, Eastern Kentucky University

Television In-Depth Reporting

Second place: Tamara Gibbs, University of Illinois

Television Sports Reporting

Second place: Rob Elgis, University of Illinois

Television News Photography

Third place: Vic DeSimpelaere, Eastern Kentucky University

Television Feature Photography

First place: Jamie Flaherty and Wiliam S. Poorman, University of Illinois

Copyright © 1996-2014 Society of Professional Journalists. All Rights Reserved. Legal

Society of Professional Journalists
Eugene S. Pulliam National Journalism Center
3909 N. Meridian St.
Indianapolis, IN 46208
317/927-8000 | Fax: 317/920-4789

Contact SPJ Headquarters
Employment Opportunities
Advertise with SPJ