Twitter Facebook Google Plus Pinterest Storify
Society of Professional Journalists
Improving and protecting journalism since 1909

Advertise with SPJ

SPJ Leads

News and More
Click to Expand Instantly

SPJ News
Events and Deadlines
SPJ Blogs
Quill Online
Journalist's Toolbox

Stay in Touch
Twitter Storify Facebook Google Plus
RSS Pinterest Pinterest Flickr

More SPJ News
Press Notes
SPJ Blogs
SPJ Leads
The EIJ News
Press Notes
SPJ News
Open Doors
Geneva Conventions
Annual FOI Reports

Home > SPJ News > SPJ Convention Speakers Include Many Award-winning Journalists

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

SPJ Convention Speakers Include Many Award-winning Journalists



News editors, Business editors, Feature editors, Photo editors, Assignment desk

2000 SPJ National Convention

Thursday, Oct. 26, Friday, Oct. 27, and Saturday, Oct. 28

Adamís Mark Hotel
50 N. Third St.
Columbus, OH 43215


10:30 a.m. ó When a Texas trial judge demanded outtakes of a CBS interview with a high-profile murder defendant, "60 Minutes II" producer Mary Mapes became the person in the middle of the storm. Hear her first-hand account in the person.

Noon ó Mike Peters, Pulitzer Prize-winning editorial cartoonist for the Dayton Daily News and creator of Mother Goose and Grimm, will be honored at the Legal Defense Fund. The LDF Roast is an opportunity for the Society to salute journalists who are distinguished among their peers.

2 p.m. ó Dr. Sam Sheppard was convicted of murdering his wife, Marilyn, at a sensationally reported "Trial of the Century." A discussion of lessons learned in the Cleveland Pressí overkill coverage and the U.S. Supreme Courtís discussion to it.

6 p.m. ó Ohio Governors on Politics: Join four of the past five Ohio governors discuss the role of the press during their administrations. Governors Jim Rhodes, John Gillgan, George Voinovich and Bob Taft will take questions from the audience during this special discussion.

8 p.m. ó Winners of the 1999 Sigma Delta Chi Awards for excellence in journalism will be honored during the SDX Banquet. From deadline coverage to investigative reporting and documentaries, these awards recognize journalismís best and brightest. Award recipients include Tom Brokaw of NBC News, David Shaw of the Los Angeles Times, Pulitzer Prize winner Katherine Boo of the Washington Post; and Ed Bradley and Helen Malgrem of "60 Minutes II." Speaker for banquet is Anna Werner, Houston TV ó11, the first reporter to break the Firestone Tire story.

Media passes can be obtained at the SPJ registration desk or at the SPJ staff office at the Adamís Mark Hotel in Columbus, Ohio, from Oct. 25-28. Journalists also may call 317/927-8000 before 5 p.m. Oct. 23 to reserve their media passes. Media contact: Sarah A. Shrode, SPJ communications manager.

Copyright © 1996-2015 Society of Professional Journalists. All Rights Reserved. Legal

Society of Professional Journalists
Eugene S. Pulliam National Journalism Center
3909 N. Meridian St.
Indianapolis, IN 46208
317/927-8000 | Fax: 317/920-4789

Contact SPJ Headquarters
Employment Opportunities
Advertise with SPJ