Twitter Facebook Google Plus Pinterest Storify
Society of Professional Journalists
Improving and protecting journalism since 1909

Advertise with SPJ
Advertise with SPJ

News and More
Click to Expand Instantly

SPJ News
Events and Deadlines
SPJ Blogs
Quill Online
Journalist's Toolbox

Stay in Touch
Twitter Storify Facebook Google Plus
RSS Pinterest Pinterest Flickr

SPJ Reporters Institute
Main Page
The Program
For the Bosses
Apply Online

Event Recaps
June 2011 Institute
June 2010 Broadcast Institute
May 2010 Print Institute

Training Programs
Home/All opportunities
Newsroom Training
National Convention
Spring Conferences
Leadership Training
J-Ed Committee

Home > Journalism Training > SPJ Reporters Institute > June 2010 Broadcast Institute Recap

Reporters Institute

June 2010 Broadcast Institute Recap

June 13-16, 2010 was filled with video critiques, networking opportunities and conversations on “eating the pizza” as twenty-nine journalists gathered in St. Petersburg, Fla. for SPJ’s Reporters Institute.

During the program boot camp, speakers covered everything from multimedia tools to ethics. Every hour was packed with valuable information to enhance the careers of the participants. Click here to see the schedule [PDF, 66 KB] from the program.

Participants in the program had three years, or less, of professional experience and worked for publications of all sizes and shapes, from all over the U.S.

Speakers included:  Read Bios [PDF, 184 KB]
— Sunny Hughes, assistant professor of communication and journalism, University of Maine
— Kenneth Irby, director of diversity, The Poynter Institute
— Hagit Limor, investigative reporter, WCPO-TV and president-elect, Society of Professional Journalists
— Kevin Smith, president, Society of Professional Journalists
— Al Tompkins, broadcast and online group leader, The Poynter Institute
— Mike Toppo, senior director for news operations and production,
— Deb Wenger, assistant professor, University of Mississippi

Group Photo

June 2010 Graduates

Shea Allen
Rachelle Baillon
Becky Bereiter
Megan Burke
Stephanie Ceverino
Nick Ciletti
Trang Do
Maddie Garrett
Robert Guzman
Sharie Harvin
Joe Hren
Jacqueline Ingles
David Iversen
Jill Nicole Kuirsky
Chantee Lans
Jonathan Lowe
Allison Miller
Nick Montes
Jacklyn Ochoa
Samira Said
Marquel Sennet
Vidya Singh
Hubert Tate
Laura Thomas
Shayna Tutson
Alexandra Villarreal
Lynn Walsh
Chris Weimer
Jenna Lee Wundrow

Click here to learn more about the graduates from the June 2010 program. [PDF, 484 KB]

In their own words

Be sure to visit SPJ Works for Scott Leadingham’s take on the program and participant testimonials. Scott is a recent grad himself and editor of Quill magazine.
Copyright © 1996-2015 Society of Professional Journalists. All Rights Reserved. Legal

Society of Professional Journalists
Eugene S. Pulliam National Journalism Center
3909 N. Meridian St.
Indianapolis, IN 46208
317/927-8000 | Fax: 317/920-4789

Contact SPJ Headquarters
Employment Opportunities
Advertise with SPJ