Twitter Facebook Google Plus Pinterest Storify
Society of Professional Journalists
Improving and protecting journalism since 1909

Advertise with SPJ
Advertise with SPJ

News and More
Click to Expand Instantly

SPJ News
Events and Deadlines
SPJ Blogs
Quill Online
Journalist's Toolbox

Stay in Touch
Twitter Storify Facebook Google Plus
RSS Pinterest Pinterest Flickr

SPJ Reporters Institute
Main Page
The Program
For the Bosses
Apply Online

Event Recaps
June 2011 Institute
June 2010 Broadcast Institute
May 2010 Print Institute

Training Programs
Home/All opportunities
Newsroom Training
National Convention
Spring Conferences
Leadership Training
J-Ed Committee

Home > Journalism Training > SPJ Reporters Institute > July 2011 Institute Recap

Reporters Institute

July 2011 Institute Recap

July 10-13 was filled with classroom sessions and networking opportunities as forty-one journalists gathered in St. Petersburg, Fla. for SPJ’s Reporters Institute.

During the program, speakers covered everything from FOI to ethics. Every hour was packed with valuable information to enhance the careers of the participants.

Participants in the program had three years, or fewer, of professional experience and worked for publications of all sizes and shapes, from all over the U.S.

Speakers included:
— David Cuillier, University of Arizona
— Lane DeGregory, St. Petersburg Times
— Pam Fine, University of Kansas
— Kenny Irby, The Poynter Institute
— Kevin Smith, SPJ Ethics Committee
— Lynn Walsh, Texas Watchdog
— Deb Wenger, professor, University of Mississippi

Group Photo

July 2011 Graduates

Whitney Bryen
Kimberly Chou
Molly Connors
LaToya Cross
David Durrett
Kate Freeman
Michael Gaynor
Matthew Grayson
Megan Hansen
Kevin Hardy
Angela Hart
Drew Harwell
Nate Hulings
Katherine Jarvis
Jaime Kilpatrick
Cody Kitaura
Robert Klemko
Sasha Lekach
Kathryn Lynch-Morin
Holly Meyer
Cimaron Neugebauer
Sam Oches
Gamaliel Ortiz
Erika Owens
Carla Parker
Dan Podheiser
Sara Randazzo
Victoria Reitano
Kaitlynn Riely
Amanda Seef
Alison Shea
Lisa Slade
Heather Smathers
Josh Smith
Sean Sposito
Heather Steeves
Juana Summers
Emily Toman
Jacqueline Weiner
Heather Wysocki
Elsa Youngsteadt
Copyright © 1996-2015 Society of Professional Journalists. All Rights Reserved. Legal

Society of Professional Journalists
Eugene S. Pulliam National Journalism Center
3909 N. Meridian St.
Indianapolis, IN 46208
317/927-8000 | Fax: 317/920-4789

Contact SPJ Headquarters
Employment Opportunities
Advertise with SPJ