Twitter Facebook Google Plus Pinterest Storify
Society of Professional Journalists
Improving and protecting journalism since 1909

Advertise with SPJ
Advertise with SPJ

News and More
Click to Expand Instantly

SPJ News
Events and Deadlines
SPJ Blogs
Quill Online
Journalist's Toolbox

Stay in Touch
Twitter Storify Facebook Google Plus
RSS Pinterest Pinterest Flickr

Ted Scripps Leadership Institute
Apply Online
About the Program
Program Schedule
About Ted Scripps

2015-16 Recaps (so far)
2014-15 Recaps
2014 Recaps
2013 Recaps
2012 Highlights
2011 Highlights
2010 Highlights
2009 Highlights
2008 Highlights
2007 Highlights
2006 Highlights

Training Programs
Home/All opportunities
Newsroom Training
National Convention
Spring Conferences
Leadership Training
J-Ed Committee

SPJ Leaders
Member Search
Online Reports
Annual Report Forms
Downloadable Resources
Member Maintenance
Annual Electronic Filing Requirement for SPJ Chapters

Leadership Tools
The Leading Edge
Membership Maintenance
New Officer Information
Non-Profit Tax Info [IRS]
Member Log off

Home > Training > Ted Scripps Leadership Institute > 2010 Recap

Professional and student SPJ chapter leaders from around the country met in Indianapolis June 4-6 to participate in the Ted Scripps Leadership Institute. Funded by the Scripps Howard Foundation, the weekend is a chance for incoming chapter leaders to meet and develop their leadership skills.

In their own words
Participants in the 2010 Ted Scripps Leadership Institute explain what SPJ means to them. See what they have to say.

Participants learned more about their individual leadership styles by completing a DiSC assessment facilitated by Jeffrey Cufaude of Idea Architects. Topics such as fundraising, using SPJ’s Web site and programming were covered in a series of small group sessions. A final seminar on chapter goal setting was held on the last day.

After the welcome dinner on Friday evening, President Kevin Smith delivered the State of the Society address and invited participants to engage in a Q&A session with SPJ national board members. The participants then had the chance to mingle with an outing to a duckpin bowling alley.

2010 Scripps Leadership Institute Graduates

Sarah Bauer
Minnesota Pro
Laurent Bonczijk
Greater Oregon Pro
David Brown
New Mexico Pro
Andrew Chavez
Fort Worth Pro
Perri Collins
Valley of the Sun Pro
Liz Enochs
Northern California Pro
Julianne Feller
Ithaca College
Julia Fina
The College at Brockport
Paul Fletcher
Virginia Pro
Meghan Frick
Appalachian State University
Nick Gass
University of Missouri
Caitlin Giddens
Baylor University
Marianne Hale
Western Kentucky University
Tom Haraldsen
Utah Headliners
Tamara Hastings
Southeast Missouri State University
Ashley Hemmy
University of Florida
Clay Holtzman
Western Washington Pro
Matthew Kasznel
Duquesne University
Katherine Lymn
University of Minnesota
Elvia Malagon
Indiana University Bloomington
Bailey Elise McBride
University of Arkansas
Alicia McCarty
University of Maryland
Audrey McCrone
Cleveland Pro
Ray Minor
Northwest Arkansas Pro
Madeline Novey
Colorado State University
Dennis Pillion
Alabama Pro Chapter
Tara Puckey
Lucy Chabot Reed
South Florida Pro
Anthony Rimel
University of Oregon
Brian Rosemeyer
Minnesota State University Mankato
Andrea Sauer
West Virginia University
Dylan Schlossberg
Lyndon State College
David Sheets
St. Louis Pro
Amber Stearns
Indiana Pro Chapter
Jerriann Sullivan
University of Central Florida
Nick Tarantino
DePaul University
J. Alex Tarquinio
New York Deadline Club
Evan Tokarz
University of South Florida-Tampa
Katy Waters
Central Ohio Pro
Max Webster
University of Cincinnati
Ashlan Williams
Lipscomb University
Holly Wolcott
Colorado Pro Chapter
Amanda Womac
East Tennessee Pro


Copyright © 1996-2015 Society of Professional Journalists. All Rights Reserved. Legal

Society of Professional Journalists
Eugene S. Pulliam National Journalism Center
3909 N. Meridian St.
Indianapolis, IN 46208
317/927-8000 | Fax: 317/920-4789

Contact SPJ Headquarters
Employment Opportunities
Advertise with SPJ