Twitter Facebook Google Plus Pinterest Storify
Society of Professional Journalists
Improving and protecting journalism since 1909

Advertise with SPJ
Advertise with SPJ

News and More
Click to Expand Instantly

SPJ News
Events and Deadlines
SPJ Blogs
Quill Online
Journalist's Toolbox

Stay in Touch
Twitter Storify Facebook Google Plus
RSS Pinterest Pinterest Flickr

Ted Scripps Leadership Institute
Apply Online
About the Program
Program Schedule
About Ted Scripps

2015-16 Recaps (so far)
2014-15 Recaps
2014 Recaps
2013 Recaps
2012 Highlights
2011 Highlights
2010 Highlights
2009 Highlights
2008 Highlights
2007 Highlights
2006 Highlights

Training Programs
Home/All opportunities
Newsroom Training
National Convention
Spring Conferences
Leadership Training
J-Ed Committee

SPJ Leaders
Member Search
Online Reports
Annual Report Forms
Downloadable Resources
Member Maintenance
Annual Electronic Filing Requirement for SPJ Chapters

Leadership Tools
The Leading Edge
Membership Maintenance
New Officer Information
Non-Profit Tax Info [IRS]
Member Log off

Home > Training > Ted Scripps Leadership Institute > 2011 Recap

Professional and student SPJ chapter leaders from around the country met in Indianapolis June 3-5 to participate in the Ted Scripps Leadership Institute. Funded by the Scripps Howard Foundation, the weekend is a chance for incoming chapter leaders to meet and develop their leadership skills.

In their own words
Participants in the 2011 Ted Scripps Leadership Institute explain what SPJ means to them. See what they have to say.

Participants learned more about their individual leadership styles by completing a DiSC assessment facilitated by Jeffrey Cufaude of Idea Architects. Topics such as fundraising, using SPJ’s Web site and programming were covered in a series of small group sessions. A final seminar on chapter goal setting was held on the last day.

After the welcome dinner on Friday evening, President Hagit Limor delivered the State of the Society address and invited participants to engage in a Q&A session with SPJ national board members. The participants then had the chance to mingle with an outing to a duckpin bowling alley.

2011 Scripps Leadership Institute Graduates

Rebekah Alva
Frances Bailey
McNeese State University
Phil Beck
Greater Philadelphia
Cary Berry-Smith
Wyoming Pro
Angela Biggs
Flagler College
Ryan Broussard
University of Louisiana at Lafayette
T.C. Cameron
Maryland Pro
Matthew Conde
University of Alabama
Alex Coolidge
Cincinnati Pro
Amanda Dolasinski
Keystone Pro
Melissa Domsic
Mid-Michigan Pro
Alicia Elkin
West Virginia University
Jennifer Ellis
University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Elena Faria
University of South Carolina
Deborah Fisher
Middle Tennessee Pro
Alyssa Ford
Minnesota Pro
Isabel Garcia
Temple University
Meredith Gonsalves
DePaul University
Jeremy Hoover
Metropolitan State College of Denver
Paula Horton
William O. Douglas Pro
Dennis Huspeni
Colorado Pro
Paul Ingram
University of Arizona
Mary Kenney
Indiana University
Paulette Kilmer
University of Toledo
Gilbert Martinez
Texas State University-San Marcos
Meagan McGinnes
Ithaca College
Taylor Mirfendereski
Ohio University
Ray Murray
Oklahoma State University
Navid Nonahal
Los Angeles Pro
Heather Perry
Pacific Lutheran University
Wanda Peters
Lincoln Collegiate
Mark Pitsch
Madison Pro
Jane Primerano
New Jersey Pro
Judy Gibbs Robinson
University of Oklahoma
Christy Scannell
San Diego Pro
Robyn Davis Sekula
Louisville Pro
Andrew Sheeler
Farthest North Pro
Peter St. Cyr
Rio Grande Pro
Susan Stabley
Greater Charlotte Pro
Cassie Stone
Northern Kentucky University
Krista Thresh
The College at Brockport
Lynn Walsh
Houston Pro
Richard Wilson
Campbellsville University
Morgan Watkins
University of Florida


Copyright © 1996-2015 Society of Professional Journalists. All Rights Reserved. Legal

Society of Professional Journalists
Eugene S. Pulliam National Journalism Center
3909 N. Meridian St.
Indianapolis, IN 46208
317/927-8000 | Fax: 317/920-4789

Contact SPJ Headquarters
Employment Opportunities
Advertise with SPJ