Twitter Facebook Google Plus Pinterest Storify
Society of Professional Journalists
Improving and protecting journalism since 1909

Advertise with SPJ

SPJ Leads

News and More
Click to Expand Instantly

SPJ News
Events and Deadlines
SPJ Blogs
Quill Online
Journalist's Toolbox

Stay in Touch
Twitter Storify Facebook Google Plus
RSS Pinterest Pinterest Flickr

Ted Scripps Leadership Institute
Apply Online
About the Program
Program Schedule
About Ted Scripps

2015-16 Recaps (so far)
2014-15 Recaps
2014 Recaps
2013 Recaps
2012 Highlights
2011 Highlights
2010 Highlights
2009 Highlights
2008 Highlights
2007 Highlights
2006 Highlights

Training Programs
Home/All opportunities
Newsroom Training
National Convention
Spring Conferences
Leadership Training
J-Ed Committee

SPJ Leaders
Member Search
Online Reports
Annual Report Forms
Downloadable Resources
Member Maintenance
Annual Electronic Filing Requirement for SPJ Chapters

Leadership Tools
The Leading Edge
Membership Maintenance
New Officer Information
Non-Profit Tax Info [IRS]
Member Log off

Home > Training > Ted Scripps Leadership Institute > 2012 Recap

Professional and student SPJ chapter leaders from around the country met in Indianapolis June 1-3 to participate in the Ted Scripps Leadership Institute. Funded by the Scripps Howard Foundation, the weekend is a chance for incoming chapter leaders to meet and develop their leadership skills.

In their own words

Participants in the 2012 Ted Scripps Leadership Institute explain what SPJ means to them. See what they have to say.

Participants learned more about their individual leadership styles by completing a DiSC assessment facilitated by Jeffrey Cufaude of Idea Architects. Topics such as fundraising, using SPJ’s Web site and programming were covered in a series of small group sessions. A final seminar on chapter goal setting was held on the last day.

After the welcome dinner on Friday evening, President-elect Sonny Albarado delivered the State of the Society address and invited participants to engage in a Q&A session about the year ahead. The participants then had the chance to mingle with an outing to a duckpin bowling alley.

2012 Scripps Leadership Institute Graduates

Douglas Bell
Colorado Pro
Linda Chesney Kaut
Kansas City Press Club
Breanne Coats
Western Washington Pro
Gary Coles
Wyoming Pro
Veronica Craker
William O. Douglas Pro
Tara Derington
Northern Kentucky University
Lauren Dezenski
Boston University
Cheryl D'Mello
Cleveland Pro
Alex Ewald
University of Oklahoma
Lani Furbank
James Madison University
Kristina Hamon
Eastern Kentucky University
Amelia Heath
Pacific Lutheran University
Tony Hernandez
Northwest Arkansas Pro
Jalisa House
Virginia Commonwealth University
Pat Kane
Virginia Pro
Candace King
Ithaca College
Loran Lewis
Keystone Pro & Wilkes University
Alden Loury
Chicago Headline Club
Eric Lyttle
Central Ohio Pro
Tammy Merrett-Murry
St. Louis Pro
Don Meyers
Utah Headliners Chapter
Walter Middlebrook
Detroit Pro
Tara Millspaugh
San Diego State University
Dominick Miserandino
Press Club of Long Island
Eva Ruth Moravec
San Antonio Pro
Jodie Mozdzer
Connecticut Pro
Cassie Negley
College at Brockport
Kristi Nelson
East Tennessee Pro
Phat Nguyen
Wilkes University
Andrea Perry
Langston University
Kim Pewitt-Jones
Fort Worth Pro
Anna Pratt
Minnesota Pro
Jami Puth
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
Amanda Sams
University of Alabama
Joseph Stefan
University of Oregon
Anne Stegen
Arizona State University
Olive Sullivan
Southwest Missouri Pro
Carrie Sunde
Syracuse University
Tanner Tate
Texas Tech University
Alexandra Trumbull
DePaul University
Vang, Chi Ab
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Meg Wagner
University of Florida
Grace Webb
Minnesota State University Mankato


Copyright © 1996-2015 Society of Professional Journalists. All Rights Reserved. Legal

Society of Professional Journalists
Eugene S. Pulliam National Journalism Center
3909 N. Meridian St.
Indianapolis, IN 46208
317/927-8000 | Fax: 317/920-4789

Contact SPJ Headquarters
Employment Opportunities
Advertise with SPJ