Home > Awards > Howard S. Dubin Outstanding Pro Member Award

Howard S. Dubin Outstanding Pro Member Award

Deadline for nominations: June 1

Annually, the Society salutes individual members who have made significant contributions to their SPJ chapters.

Submit your nomination online

Click here to submit your nomination online.

2023 Honorees
– Dan Kubiske, Washington, D.C., Pro Chapter
– Ginny McCabe, Greater Cincinnati Pro Chapter

Read the Press Release

Prior Winners
Jack Lail, East Tennessee Pro

Ruth Nasrullah, Houston Pro
Steve Lubetkin, New Jersey Pro

Emily Bloch, SPJ Florida
Brian Eckert, Virginia Pro

Navid Nonahal, Greater Jonathan Make, Washington, D.C., Pro
Stirling Morita, Hawaii Pro

Navid Nonahal, Greater Los Angeles Pro
Jennifer Ellis, Arkansas Pro

Miriam Ascarelli, New Jersey Pro
Hagit Limor, Greater Cincinnati Pro

Jason Parsley, SPJ Florida
Robyn Davis Sekula, Louisville Pro

Julie Asher, Washington, D.C. Pro
Tom McKee, Cincinnati Pro

Mark Pitsch, Madison Pro
Alex Tarquinio, New York Deadline Club

Patti Cross, Bluegrass Pro
Andy Schotz, Washington D.C. Pro

Bill Bleyer, Press Club of Long Island
David Sheets, St. Louis Pro

Linda Petersen, Utah Pro
Rebecca Baker, Deadline Club

John Dycus, Fort Worth Pro
David Nicklaus, St. Louis Pro

2009 No Award Given

Jean Ash, East Tennessee Pro Chapter
Dr. Richard Hendrickson, Cleveland Pro Chapter

Claudia Peschiutta

2006 Emil Dansker, Ph.D., Cincinnati Pro Chapter

2005 Molly McDonough, Chicago Headline Club

2005 Elizabeth Kelly-Klay, Southwest Missouri Pro Chapter

2004 Roberta Wax, Greater Los Angeles Pro Chapter

2003 Stephenie Overman, New Jersey Pro

2003 Allen Fetters, Mid-Florida Pro

2002 Dorothy Estes, Fort Worth Pro

2001 Travis Poling, San Antonio Pro

2001 Lauren Bartlett, Los Angeles Pro

1998 Bruce Cadwallader, Central Ohio Pro Chapter

1998 Dan Bolton, Los Angeles Pro Chapter

1998 Rick Kupchella, Minnesota Pro Chapter

1998 Sally Lehrman, Northern California Pro Chapter

1998 David Sedore, South Florida Pro Chapter

The Award honors Howard Dubin who has shown outstanding membership with his service to the Society. While he contributes great sums of time, energy and money to the national Society, Mr. Dubin continues grassroots service at the chapter level.

Only two awards (one from chapters of 75 or more members and one from chapters with fewer than 75 members) may be given annually.


Nominees must be a member of SPJ.


Nomination form should be accompanied by a letter(s) of recommendation that addresses the nominee’s contributions to their SPJ chapter and/or region and why the nominee is deserving of this national recognition. Self-nominations are permitted.


All entries should be submitted no later than June 1.

For More Information

Contact SPJ Awards by e-mail: awards@spj.org

Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?