Home > Awards > David Eshelman Outstanding Campus Adviser Award

David Eshelman Outstanding Campus Adviser Award

Deadline for nominations: June 1

The Outstanding Campus Chapter Adviser Award, initiated in 1978, is presented annually to the person who has made an exceptional contribution to the campus chapter for which he or she serves as SPJ adviser.

Submit your nomination online

Sorry, the deadline to submit nominations has passed.

2021 Honoree
Teresa Talerico,
Texas A&M San Antonio

Read press release

Prior Winners

2020   Nicholas Hirshon, William Paterson University
2019   Nicholas Hirshon, William Paterson University
2018   Colleen Steffen, Ball State University
2017   No winner chosen
2016   No winner chosen
2015   Nerissa Young, Ohio University
2014   Chris Delboni, Florida International University
2013   Mike Reilley, DePaul University
2012   Jenny Wohlfarth
2011   Mead Loop
2010   No honoree
2009   Beth Konrad
2008   Dr. Kathleen Wickham
2007   Rick Brunson
2006   No Award
2005   Ernest Wiggins, University of South Carolina
2004   Dr. George Keeler, University of La Verne
2003   Dr. Richard Johns, University of Iowa
2002   Sue Kopen Katcef, University of Maryland
2001   Charles Davis, University of Missouri
1999   Neil Ralston, Truman State University
1998   Sree Sreenivasan, Columbia University

In 1993, the SPJ board voted to change the award name to the David Eshelman Outstanding Campus Adviser Award in honor of Eshelman, a longtime member of the Society, founder of, and longtime adviser to, the Central Missouri State SPJ Chapter and board parliamentarian.


Nominees must be a member of SPJ and serve as a chapter adviser.


Nominations must be made by an SPJ chapter officer. Nomination form should be accompanied by a letter of recommendation from a chapter officer(s) that highlights chapter programing for the prior year, attendance at the Excellence in Journalism Conference/Regional Conference and addresses why the nominee is deserving of this national recognition. Self-nominations are not permitted.

Winner Announcement and Presentation

Winner will be honored at the SPJ National Convention.


All entries should be submitted no later than June 1.

For More Information

Contact SPJ Headquarters at 317-927-8000 or e-mail: awards@spj.org

Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?