Home    Sign In    Join    Give    More

> Latest News, Blogs and Events (tap to expand)

Registration is now open!

The journalism conference of the year is still on. Join us September 12-13. Details inside.

Home > Awards > Ethics in Journalism Awards

Ethics in Journalism Awards
for performing in an outstanding ethical manner

Deadline for nominations: March 16

The Ethics in Journalism Award honors journalists or news organizations that perform in an outstanding ethical manner demonstrating the ideals of the SPJ Code of Ethics. It also honors especially notable efforts to educate the public on principles embodied in the code or hold journalists ethically accountable for their behavior. The Society may present one Ethics in Journalism Award in any given year unless there are no worthy candidates. Nominations are op en. Self-nomination is permitted.

Submit your nomination online

Sorry, the deadline to submit nominations has passed.

2019 Winners
– Hannah Dreier, ProPublica
– Garance Burke and Martha Mendoza, Associated Press

Read the Press Release

Previous Winners
2018   Journalists from National Public Radio and Minnesota Public Radio
2017   Steve Buttry and Hannah Dreier
2016   Las Vegas Review-Journal journalists and Steve Majerus-Collins; Margie Mason, Robin McDowell and Martha Mendoza
2015   Samantha Grant and GUSH Productions, Bob Bajek, Douglas Ray and the staff of the Gainesville Sun
2014   Matt Apuzzo, Adam Goldman and Ted Bridis, Associated Press
2013   David Boardman, The Seattle Times
2012   Karen Gadbois, The Lens (New Orleans)
2011   No Award Given
2010   Bill Shory, WBIR-TV
2009   No Award Given
2008   Glen Mabie
2007   No Award Given
2006   Allan M. Siegal, The New York Times
2006   Jerry Roberts, George Foulsham, Don Murphy, Gerry Spratt, Michael Todd, Jane Hulse, Colin Powers, Barney Brantingham, and Scott Hadly, formerly of the Santa Barbara News-Press
2005   No awards made
2004   No awards made
2003   Jordan Rodack, Hurricane Editor, the University of Miami
2002   No awards made
2001   Otis Chandler and the newsroom staff of The Los Angeles Times
2000   No awards made
1999   No awards made
1998   David Broder, The Washington Post
1998   Steve Wilson and Jane Akre, formerly of W-T-V-T, Tampa, Florida
1997   Jerry Ceppos, San Jose Mercury News
1997   Hollis Curl, Wilcox Progress Era, Camden, Alabama
1997   Carol Marin, WBBM-TV, Chicago


Nominations should be accompanied by a letter(s) of recommendation that addresses why the nominee is deserving of this national recognition. Self-nominations are permitted.


All entries should be submitted no later than March 16.

For More Information

Contact SPJ Headquarters at 317/927-8000 or e-mail: awards@spj.org

Copyright © 1996-2020 Society of Professional Journalists. All rights reserved.

Twitter Facebook Instagram LinkedIn RSS


Society of Professional Journalists
Eugene S. Pulliam National Journalism Center
3909 N. Meridian St., Suite 200
Indianapolis, IN 46208

Contact SPJ Headquarters
Employment Opportunities
Advertise with SPJ