Enter OnlineRules/Eligibility
Categories2023 Honorees
Enter OnlineRules & EligibilityCategories2023 Honorees

2023 National Mark of Excellence Awards Honorees

The Society of Professional Journalists is pleased to present the national winners of the 2023 Mark of Excellence Awards, recognizing collegiate work published or broadcast during 2023.

Follow this link to see a list of winners and view their work.

2023 Regional Winners and Finalists

Click on each region's number to read a press release that contains a complete list of winners and finalists from that region.

Region 1
Region 2
Region 3
Region 4
Region 5
Region 6
Region 7
Region 8
Region 9
Region 10
Region 11
Region 12

Annually, the Society of Professional Journalists presents the Mark of Excellence Awards, honoring the best in student journalism.

Most categories are first judged on the regional level. First-place regional winners advance to the national competition, and most are recognized at their respective regional SPJ conference in 2024. National winners will be showcased on spj.org.

Note: Some categories are national only, with all entries immediately going to national judging.

In addition to physical awards and recognition, two awards carry cash prizes. The Corbin Gwaltney Award for Best Student Newspaper, large and small divisions, each is accompanied by a $5,000 prize courtesy of the Chronicle of Higher Education.

A best in show (MOEy) award will be given for the overall best entry among all national winners. The winner will be honored at the SDX Awards dinner.

Winners in the following categories are only eligible for a MOEy only if they cover a single topic. All other category national winners are eligible:

Jump to:

[ Back to Top ]


[ Back to Top ]

General Rules

School Enrollment

Submitting Your MOE Award Entry

All entries in every category must be uploaded to the online awards site. If an entry is mailed to SPJ Headquarters, it will be disqualified.

Accuracy Requirement

Any corrections, clarifications or retractions made after initial publishing or broadcast must be submitted as part of the entry. Also, copies of any written challenges to the report’s accuracy sent to the entrant or the news organization by or on behalf of those mentioned — including but not limited to letters, emails or legal papers — must be included with the entry. Responses by the news organization also should be included.


Not an SPJ member? Now's the perfect time to join. Join today and save 50 percent on your entry fee.

Each submission by an SPJ member must be accompanied by a $30 entry fee and the entrant’s membership number. You may not use another student’s membership number to obtain the $30 member entry fee. Each submission by a non-member must be accompanied by a $40 entry fee.


Judging will be based on overall excellence. Criteria include:

One winner and up to two finalists will be chosen in each category unless the judges find that the entries do not meet the overall standard of excellence required. No ties or honorable mentions will be awarded. A winner must be named in a category if there are finalists.

[ Back to Top ]

Category-specific Rules

See a list of categories (opens in new window).





[ Back to Top ]


Email awards@spj.org.