Rules & EligibilityHonorees

SPJ’s New America Award honors public service journalism that explores and exposes an issue of importance to immigrant or ethnic communities currently living in the United States. Although not required, collaboration with ethnic media is taken into account.

2020 Honoree

In the Covid-19 death of a hospital food worker, a microcosm of the pandemic

By Eric Boodman, STAT

View Entry

Previous winners

2019: “Brown Water for Brown People: California’s Overlooked Drinking Water Crisis” by Jose A. Del Real, The New York Times
Read press release | View Entry

2018: “Poisoned Cities, Deadly Border” by The Desert Sun, The Arizona Republic and USA Today
Read press release | View Entry

2017: “The Wall” by The Arizona Republic & USA Today Network
Read press release | View Entry

2016: “To Build a Home: The Navajo Housing Tragedy” by The Arizona Republic
Read press release | View Entry

2015: “Where are the children?” by Sarah Stillman, The New Yorker
Read press release | View Entry

2014: “The Real Death Valley” and “Muriendo por Cruzar (Dying to Cross)” by John Carlos Frey, Marisa Venegas, Solly Granatstein, Esther Kaplan, Neil Katz, Shawn Efran and Greg Gilderman Investigative Fund/Weather Channel/Telemundo/Efran Films
Read press release
View entry: Weather Channel documentary | Telemundo documentary (with English subtitles) | Investigative Fund story

2013: “Changing America: The 2013 immigration fight,” by Benjy Sarlin, MSNBC
Read press release | See series

2012: “Center of Detention” series, by Lewis Kamb, News Tribune, and Carol Smith, InvestigateWest
Read press release | See series

2011: “Latinos get little thanks for rebuilding New Orleans,” series, by Richard Gonzales and Uri Berliner, NPR

2010: “Civil War Kids: Young Somalis in Minnesota,” series, by Minnesota Public Radio News

2009: The Phoenix New Times, KGTV 10 (San Diego) News I-Team

2008: Stephanie Czekalinski, Jill Riepenhoff and Todd Jones, The Columbus Dispatch

2007: Karen Frillmann and Ewa Kern-Jedrychowska

2006: Segunda Juventud

2005: WNYC Radio, The Center for New York City Affairs at The New School in association with Minnesota Public Radio and Macollvie Jean-Francois, Ewa Kern-Jedrychowska and Arun Venugopal

2004: Mary C. Johns, Beauty Turner and Brian J. Rogal