Home > About SPJ > Committees > Freedom of Information

Freedom of Information Committee

This committee is the watchdog of press freedoms across the nation. It relies upon a network of volunteers in each state organized under Project Sunshine. These SPJ members are on the front lines for assaults to the First Amendment and when lawmakers attempt to restrict the public's access to documents and the government's business. The committee often is called upon to intervene in instances where the media is restricted.

Freedom of Information Committee Chair

Jodi Rave Spotted Bear

Sterling Cosper, vice chair
FOI Committee Members

Bryan Pollard
Project Manager, The Associated Press

Candice Cole
Washington Correspondent, TYT

Howard Goldberg
Editor, NewsDigits

Pavlina Osta
Evening News Anchor, Gray Television

Geoffrey King
John S. Knight Journalism Community Impact Fellow, Stanford

Tim Gruver
Reporter, Washington Observer

Angel Ellis
Senior Writer, Muscogee Nation News

Nick Bradshaw
Reporter, KXXV-TV

Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?