Watch: A conversation with incoming SPJ Executive Director Caroline Hendrie

Caroline Hendrie joins SPJ President Ashanti Blaize-Hopkins to discuss her career, the state of the industry, and her vision for SPJ’s next chapter.

Home > SPJ Foundation > Educational programs supported by the Foundation

SPJ Foundation (formerly SDX Foundation)
Educational programs supported by the Foundation

These signature programs are part of the Foundation’s commitment to excellence in professional and collegiate journalism.

Eugene C. Pulliam Editorial Fellowship
This $75,000 fellowship is awarded to an outstanding editorial writer to help broaden his or her journalistic horizons and knowledge of the world.

Eugene S. Pulliam First Amendment Award
This $10,000 award honors people and organizations who work to protect and preserve one or more of the rights guaranteed by the First Amendment.

Pulliam/Kilgore Internships
Each year, two internships for students to research and write about freedom of information issues are awarded to assist with SPJ’s Freedom of Information Committee and First Amendment legal counsel in preparing Freedom of Information Report material.

Dori Maynard Diversity Leadership Program
Strengthening SPJ’s diversity membership representation is important to the organization’s health and future. The program is an opportunity for members to become more acquainted with SPJ through exposure to the Society. The program awards fellowships to members to attend the SPJ's national conference.

Robert D.G Lewis First Amendment Award
This award was created to honor Robert Lewis, SPJ President 1985-86, National FOI Chairman 1978-83 and Wells Key Recipient 1980. From the generosity of the Lewis family, the award is given each year to a student SPJ member who has demonstrated outstanding service to the First Amendment through the field of journalism. The award assists a student with his/her attendance to SPJ's national conference.

Taishoff Memorial Fund
A bequest from the Broadcasting/Taishoff Foundation was given in the memory of Sol J. Taishoff, Sigma Delta Chi Foundation president 1956-57 and the first broadcaster to serve as president of SPJ. The fund is used to provide a broadcast trainer access to SPJ's national conference.

Harper Memorial Scholarships
Terry Harper, SPJ's Executive Director 2002-09, passed away June 2009 after a two-year battle with brain cancer at the young age of 45. In honor of Terry’s lasting efforts to improve SPJ and the entire journalism community, scholarships are awarded to members to attend the SPJ's national conference.

Journalism Ethics Book: A Casebook of Professional Conduct for News Media, Fourth edition
Closely organized around the Society of Professional Journalists' code of ethics — the news industry's widely accepted "gold standard" of journalism principles — this updated edition uses real-life case studies to demonstrate how journalism students and professionals can identify and reason through ethical dilemmas.

Media Trust and Democracy: The Casper Project
SPJ spent the first half of 2019 listening to news consumers explain why they are skeptical about what they read, hear or see in the news media. Rod Hicks, SPJ’s Journalist on Call, led the project, which also included guidance on how to distinguish between news and other types of information and interactions with journalists.

Quill, SPJ's magazine, is supported by the Quill Endowment Fund which was established in 1923 for the purpose of assisting in covering expenses incurred for the production of the magazine.

Annually, the Foundation awards thousands of dollars in grants to SPJ and other journalism organizations/programs. Click here to see programs that the Foundation has supported over the years.

Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?