Enter OnlineRules/Eligibility
Categories2023 Honorees
Enter OnlineRules & EligibilityCategories2023 Honorees

2000 Mark of Excellence
National Winners and Finalists

For 27 years, the Society of Professional Journalists has presented the Mark of Excellence Awards honoring the best in student journalism. Judged at the regional and national level, the awards offer 36 categories for print, radio and television collegiate journalism. Regional award winners are honored at SPJ's spring regional conferences with national winners announced in Quill and honored at the 2001 SPJ National Convention in Seattle/Bellevue. The competition is open to anyone enrolled in a college or university and studying for an academic degree in 2000.

Newspapers | Magazines | Photography | Radio | Television


Editorial Writing
Angie Welling, Weber State University, "Viewpoint," The Signpost

Editorial Cartooning
Neil-Allen Garcia, Southwestern College, Southwestern College Sun

General Column Writing
Ashlea Deahl, Arizona State University, State Press

Sports Column Writing
Paul J. Weber, University of Texas at Austin, The Daily Texan

Spot News Reporting
Tim Higgins, "Wilson takes oath of office," University of Missouri-Columbia, Columbia Daily Tribune

General News Reporting
The Daily Cardinal Staff, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Election 2000 coverage

In-Depth Reporting
Kristin L. Gustafson, University of Minnesota, "Balancing the Budget" series, The Minnesota Daily

Feature Writing
Natale Verdone, San Francisco State University, "Men in Chaps, Women in Bondage," Golden Gate Xpress

Sports Writing
Ryan Divish, University of Montana, "Reluctant Hero," Gameday Kaimin

Best All-Around Daily Student Newspaper
The Daily Texan, University of Texas at Austin

Best All-Around Non-Daily Student Newspaper Newspaper
The Breeze, James Madison University

Best All-Around Non-Daily Student Newspaper Newspaper
The Orion, California State University, Chico

Best All-Around Online Student Newspaper Newspaper
Sentinel Online, North Idaho College

[ Back to Top]


Non-Fiction Article Newspaper
Anne Saita, Boston University, "Obsession," Vision Magazine

Best Student Magazine published once a year
CURIO (Courtney Crowley and Alison Manser, Co-Executive Editors), James Madison University

Best Student Magazine published more than once a year
Legacy (Anita Chang and Michael Smith, Editors), Louisiana State University

[ Back to Top]


Spot News Photography
Kevin Clark, University of Washington, "Kingdome Fall Down," The Daily

General News Photography
Glenn Danforth, University of Florida, "A Race War of Words," Independent Florida Alligator

Feature Photography
Kevin German, Washington State University, "Cliff Hanger," The Register-Guard

Photo Illustration
Cassandra Shie, Western Kentucky Unviersity, "To Hill and Back," College Heights Herald

Sports Photography
Bethany Boarts, Penn State University, "Moore vs. Cornell," The Daily Collegian

[ Back to Top]


Radio Spot News Reporting
Aron Bender, California State University, Northridge, "L.A. County Hospital Strike," KCSN-Northridge

Radio Feature
Natasha Ginsberg, University of Maryland at College Park, "Boot Camp," WMUC Radio

Radio In-Depth Reporting
Mark Gordon and Mike Lowe, Northwestern University, "Mind Medicine: A Prozac Profile," WNUR 89.3 FM-Evanston

Radio Sports Reporting
Jerod Smalley, Marshall University, "NCAA Gambling," WMUL-FM

Radio Daily Newscast
WHAS-AM-WWHR Newscast, Lisa Hughes, Western Kentucky University, "

[ Back to Top]


Television Spot News Reporting
Adam Aurand, Ithaca College, "Sodexho — Marriott Protest," ICTV

General News Reporting
Ben Simmoneau and Darryl Drevna, Ithaca College, "Vet School/PETA," ICTV

Television Feature
Sandi Craig, University of Central Oklahoma, "Special Kids," KCSU-TV

Television In-Depth Reporting
University of Montana Student Documentary Unit (Hilary Hutcheson, Producer), University of Montana, "Anaconda: The Legacy," Montana PBS

Television Sports Reporting
Adam Harris and Jared Storck, Illinois State University, "Metamora Madness," TV-10 News

Television News Photography
Alanna Turner, University of Maryland at College Park, "Veterans Day," UMTV Cable

Television Feature Photography
Katie Lovetinsky, Photographer and Jennifer Mutz, Reporter, University of Texas at Austin, "Wildlife Park," KVR-TV Austin

Television Sports Photography
Laura Sobers and Josh Levine, University of Maryland at College Park, "Game Day," UMTV Cable

Television Daily Newscast
"KBYU News," Brigham Young University, KBYU-TV

Television Non-Daily Newscast
"KVR News," (Katie Lovetinsky, News Director, Richard Neel, Producer), University of Texas at Austin, KVR-TV Austin