Enter OnlineRules/Eligibility
Categories2022 Honorees
Enter OnlineRules & EligibilityCategories2022 Honorees

2021 Mark of Excellence
National Winners and Finalists

Jump to:

2021 Regional Winners and Finalists

Click on each region's number to read a press release that contains a complete list of winners and finalists from that region.

Region 1
Region 2
Region 3
Region 4
Region 5
Region 6
Region 7
Region 8
Region 9
Region 10
Region 11
Region 12

* Region 11's winners will be posted after its regional conference

The Society of Professional Journalists is pleased to announce the national winners of the 2021 Mark of Excellence Awards, recognizing collegiate work published or broadcasted during 2021.

The awards honor the best in student journalism. As such, judges were directed to choose only those entries which they felt were outstanding work worthy of a national honor. If the judges determined that none of the entries rose to the level of excellence, no award was given. Any category not listed has no winner.

School divisions are based on student enrollment, which includes both graduate and undergraduate enrollment. Schools with more than 10,000 students are designated as large schools.

National Mark of Excellence Award judges can choose up to one national winner in each category and two national finalists (runners-up).

Winners and finalists were previously recognized by receiving first-place in one of the SPJ’s 12 regional competitions. Each first-place regional winner advanced to the national competition.