Enter OnlineRules/Eligibility
Categories2022 Honorees
Enter OnlineRules & EligibilityCategories2022 Honorees

2022 Mark of Excellence
National Winners and Finalists

Jump to:

2022 Regional Winners and Finalists

Click on each region's number to read a press release that contains a complete list of winners and finalists from that region.

Region 1
Region 2
Region 3
Region 4
Region 5
Region 6
Region 7
Region 8
Region 9
Region 10
Region 11
Region 12

The Society of Professional Journalists is pleased to announce the national winners of the 2022 Mark of Excellence Awards, recognizing collegiate work published or broadcast during 2022.

The awards honor the best in student journalism. As such, judges are directed to choose only those entries which they feel demonstrate outstanding work worthy of a national honor. Judges can choose up to one national winner and two national finalists (runners-up) in each category. Any category not listed has no national winner.

Beginning with the 2022 awards, some categories are national only, with no regional competitions. Category descriptions for all of 2022's awards can be found here.

School divisions are based on student enrollment, which includes both graduate and undergraduate enrollment. Schools with more than 10,000 students are designated as large schools.

Winners and finalists were previously recognized by receiving first-place in one of the SPJ’s 12 regional competitions. Each first-place regional winner advanced to the national competition.