Home > SPJ News > SPJ/JEA announce 2023 High School Essay Contest winners

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

SPJ/JEA announce 2023 High School Essay Contest winners


Claire Regan, SPJ National President, cregan@spj.org
Zoë Berg, SPJ Communications Specialist, 317-920-4785, zberg@spj.org
Lindsay Porter, JEA Assistant Director, contact online, 785-532-5563

INDIANAPOLIS — The Society of Professional Journalists and Journalism Education Association announce three scholarship winners in the 2023 SPJ/JEA High School Essay Contest.

More than 125 students participated in the nationwide contest, which was judged by 10 journalism educators from around the country.

Established in 1998, the contest is a project of JEA and SPJ. The topic for the 2023 contest — “While consumers are drawn toward tweets and sound bites, how can journalists tell more of the story without losing readers’ interest?”

The 2023 SPJ/JEA High School Essay Contest winners are:
— First Place, $1,000 Scholarship Winner: Jamie Kim, Eastern Christian High School, North Haledon, New Jersey
— Second Place, $500 Scholarship Winner: Elizabeth Ray, Montgomery (Alabama) Academy
— Third Place, $300 Scholarship Winner: Ashir Rao, Los Gatos (California) High School

SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to informing citizens; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and fights to protect First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press. Support excellent journalism and fight for your right to know. Become a member, give to the Legal Defense Fund or give to the SPJ Foundation.

Founded in 1924, JEA supports free and responsible scholastic journalism by providing resources and educational opportunities, promoting professionalism, encouraging and rewarding student excellence and teacher achievement, and an atmosphere which encompasses diversity yet builds unity. It is headquartered at Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kansas.


Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?