Home > SPJ News > SPJ honors campus chapters for national and regional excellence

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

SPJ honors campus chapters for national and regional excellence


For Immediate Release:

Lauren Rochester, SPJ Awards Coordinator, 317-927-8000 ext. 210, lrochester@spj.org
Andrew M. Scott, SPJ Communications Coordinator, 317-927-8000 ext. 215, ascott@spj.org

INDIANAPOLIS – The Society of Professional Journalists is pleased to honor a select group of campus chapters for their outstanding work. Among 11 chapters recognized, Ohio University was named national Outstanding Campus Chapter of the Year.

Annually, each of SPJ’s 12 Regional Directors selects one chapter in his or her region that has performed outstanding service to the Society, their campus and the journalism profession. From these 12 chapters, one chapter is selected by the Vice President for Campus Chapter Affairs as the Outstanding Campus Chapter of the Year.

Click here for a map of SPJ regions and chapters.

The regional honorees are:

Region 1: Rutgers University
Region 2: Appalachian State University
Region 3: University of Florida
Region 4: Ohio University
Region 5: Eastern Kentucky University
Region 6: St. Cloud State University
Region7: University of Iowa
Region 8: None
Region 9: Colorado State University
Region 10: Pacific Lutheran University
Region 11: Arizona State University
Region 12: University of Mississippi

From this group, Ohio University was selected for the Outstanding Campus Chapter honor.

"The Ohio University chapter president told us that the chapter members' focus last year was to improve the quality of education at the journalism school, and that's just what they did,” SPJ Vice President for Campus Chapter Affairs Neil Ralston said. “They offered a remarkable range of programs that addressed ethics, freedom-of-information issues, newsroom training, international journalism and much more. And on top of that, they produced a weekly newsletter that was e-mailed to all students and faculty in the school. They did an amazing job."

Region 4 Director Jeremy Steele shared similar praise.

“Without activities like this by dedicated SPJ campus groups, freedom of the press at our universities is in danger,” Steele said. “I am continually impressed by this chapter. Their work is above and beyond any other chapter I have seen recently – and that includes professional chapters.”

The regional awards will be presented during regional meetings on Sunday, Oct. 3, at the 2010 SPJ Convention & National Journalism Conference in Las Vegas. The Ohio University chapter will receive its national award during the Mark of Excellence Awards Luncheon Oct. 4.

Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press. For more information about SPJ, please visit www.spj.org.


Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?