Watch: A conversation with incoming SPJ Executive Director Caroline Hendrie

Caroline Hendrie joins SPJ President Ashanti Blaize-Hopkins to discuss her career, the state of the industry, and her vision for SPJ’s next chapter.

Home > SPJ News > SPJ elects 2010-11 Board of Directors during national convention

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

SPJ elects 2010-11 Board of Directors during national convention


For Immediate Release:

Andrew M. Scott, SPJ Communications Coordinator, 317-927-8000 ext. 215,

INDIANAPOLIS – The Society of Professional Journalists announces its 2010-11 Board of Directors, elected during the 2010 SPJ Convention & National Journalism Conference in Las Vegas.

Newly elected board members are President-elect Darcie Lunsford; Secretary-Treasurer John Ensslin; Director At-Large Lauren Bartlett; Campus Adviser At-Large Kym Fox; Student Representative Taylor Mirfendereski; Region 4 Director James Pilcher; Region 7 Director Kelsey Volkmann; and Region 9 Director Donald Meyers.

Darcie Lunsford

Darcie Lunsford is the real estate editor for the South Florida Business Journal. Lunsford has served as secretary-treasurer, Region 3 Director, South Florida Pro chapter president, and South Florida vice president of programming. Her term as President-elect will last until the 2011 joint convention with the Radio Television Digital News Association, when she will become the 2011-12 SPJ president.

John Ensslin

John Ensslin is a legal affairs reporter for The Gazette in Colorado Springs, Colo. He also served as SPJ National Convention Co-Chair, Region 9 Director, Colorado Pro chapter president, and Membership Committee chairman.

Lauren Bartlett

Lauren Bartlett works in media relations for Southern California Edison. Her previous SPJ experience includes serving as Public Outreach Committee vice chairwoman, SPJ/LA chapter president, SPJ/LA chapter secretary, SPJ/LA board member and UCLA chapter president.

Kym Fox

Kym Fox is a senior lecturer and journalism sequence coordinator for Texas State University School of Journalism and Mass Communication. She serves as the university’s chapter co-adviser and San Antonio Pro chapter treasurer. Fox also served as San Antonio Pro chapter president and San Antonio SPJ Gridiron producer.

Taylor Mirfendereski

Taylor Mirfendereski is a student at the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism at Ohio University. She is a multimedia storyteller, writer and videographer and has reported internationally from Iran and for CNN’s campus correspondents program. She fills one of two board seats for student SPJ members.

James Pilcher

James Pilcher is a business projects reporter for The Cincinnati Enquirer. The current Cincinnati Pro chapter president, Pilcher also served as chapter vice president of programming.

Kelsey Volkmann

Kelsey Volkman is the web editor for St. Louis Business Journal. Volkman served as chapter programming chairwoman and president of the St. Louis Pro chapter.

Donald Meyers

Donald Meyers is a reporter for The Salt Lake Tribune. He recently served as a Freedom of Information Committee member, Project Watchdog Committee member and Utah Headliners chapter president.

Re-elected board members are regional directors Luther Turmelle, Region 1; Liz Hansen, Region 5; Scott Cooper, Region 8; and Tara Puckey, student representative.

In addition, board members continuing their service, whose seats weren’t up for election this year, are Neil Ralston, Vice President of Campus Chapter Affairs; Bill McCloskey, Director At-Large; George Daniels, Campus Adviser At-Large and regional directors Brian Eckert, Region 2; Jenn Rowell, Region 3; Amanda Theisen, Region 6; Dana Neuts, Region 10; Jodi Cleesattle, Region 11; and Sonny Albarado, Region 12.

Other members of the SPJ board include President Hagit Limor, elected as President-elect in 2009, and Immediate Past President Kevin Smith. Limor was installed as SPJ president during the 2010 SPJ Convention. Read the release here.

Click here to read the SPJ bylaws and rules on the board election and voting process.

Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press. For more information about SPJ, please visit


Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?