Watch: A conversation with incoming SPJ Executive Director Caroline Hendrie

Caroline Hendrie joins SPJ President Ashanti Blaize-Hopkins to discuss her career, the state of the industry, and her vision for SPJ’s next chapter.

Home > SPJ News > Students Win SPJ Mark of Excellence Awards for Outstanding Journalism

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

Students Win SPJ Mark of Excellence Awards for Outstanding Journalism


Contacts: Bobby Deckard, SPJ Awards coordinator, 317/927-8000 ext. 218 or

INDIANAPOLIS - The Society of Professional Journalists today announces the 2000 Mark of Excellence Awards for outstanding student journalism.

The competition drew more than 2,200 entries in 36 categories for print, radio, television and online collegiate journalism. For 27 years, the Society has presented student journalism awards.

"The Mark of Excellence Awards are among the most prestigious awards college students can win," said David Carlson, SPJ vice president for Campus Chapter Affairs and University of Florida faculty member. "Students have risen to the occasion with an outstanding body of work."

The national winners will receive their awards Oct. 4-6 at the 2001 SPJ National Convention in Seattle/Bellevue, Wash., and will be honored in the July/August issue of Quill, the Society's magazine.

Best all-around winners are:
Brigham Young University, best daily television newscast
University of Texas at Austin, best non-daily television newscast
Lisa Hughes, Western Kentucky University, best radio daily newscast
University of Texas at Austin, best daily newspaper
North Idaho College, best online newspaper
James Madison University, best non-daily newspaper (published two to four times a week)
California State University, Chico, best non-daily newspaper (published once a week)
James Madison University, best magazine published once a year
Louisiana State University, best magazine published more than once a year.

Before reaching the national competition, students placed first in SPJ's regional competitions, which were judged earlier this spring.

The Society of Professional Journalists is dedicated to improving and protecting journalism. It is the nation's largest and most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior. Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press.



Editorial Writing: Angie Welling, Weber State University, "Viewpoint," The Signpost
Editorial Cartooning: Neil-Allen Garcia, Southwestern College, Southwestern College Sun
General Column Writing: Ashlea Deahl, Arizona State University, State Press
Sports Column Writing: Paul J. Weber, University of Texas at Austin, The Daily Texan
Spot News Reporting: Tim Higgins, "Wilson takes oath of office," University of Missouri-Columbia, Columbia Daily Tribune
General News Reporting: The Daily Cardinal staff, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Election 2000 coverage
In-Depth Reporting: Kristin L. Gustafson, University of Minnesota, "Balancing the Budget" series, The Minnesota Daily
Feature Writing: Natale Verdone, San Francisco State University, "Men in Chaps, Women in Bondage," Golden Gate Xpress
Sports Writing: Ryan Divish, University of Montana, "Reluctant Hero," Gameday Kaimin


Best All-Around Daily Student Newspaper: The Daily Texan, University of Texas at Austin
Best All-Around Non-Daily Student Newspaper (Published two to four times a week): The Breeze, James Madison University
Best All-Around Non-Daily Student Newspaper (Published once a week): The Orion, California State University, Chico
Best All-Around Online Student Newspaper: Sentinel Online, North Idaho College


Non-Fiction Article: Anne Saita, Boston University, "Obsession," Vision Magazine
Best Student Magazine published once a year: CURIO (Courtney Crowley and Alison Manser, Co-executive editors), James Madison University
Best Student Magazine published more than once a year: Legacy (Anita Chang and Michael Smith, editors), Louisiana State University


Spot News Photography: Kevin Clark, University of Washington, "Kingdome Fall Down," The Daily
General News Photography: Glenn Danforth, University of Florida, "A Race War of Words," Independent Florida Alligator
Feature Photography: Kevin German, Washington State University, "Cliff Hanger," The Register-Guard
Photo Illustration: Cassandra Shie, Western Kentucky Unviersity, "To Hill and Back," College Heights Herald
Sports Photography: Bethany Boarts, Penn State University, "Moore vs. Cornell," The Daily Collegian


Radio Spot News Reporting: Aron Bender, California State University, Northridge, "L.A. County Hospital Strike," KCSN-Northridge
Radio Feature: Natasha Ginsberg, University of Maryland at College Park, "Boot Camp," WMUC Radio
Radio In-Depth Reporting: Mark Gordon and Mike Lowe, Northwestern University, "Mind Medicine: A Prozac Profile," WNUR 89.3 FM-Evanston
Radio Sports Reporting: Jerod Smalley, Marshall University, "NCAA Gambling,"WMUL-FM
Radio Daily Newscast : WHAS-AM-WWHR Newscast, Lisa Hughes, reporter/anchor, Western Kentucky University


Television Spot News Reporting: Adam Aurand, Ithaca College, "Sodexho - Marriott Protest," ICTV
General News Reporting: Ben Simmoneau and Darryl Drevna, Ithaca College, "Vet School/PETA," ICTV
Television Feature: Sandi Craig, University of Central Oklahoma, "Special Kids," KCSU-TV
Television In-Depth Reporting: University of Montana Student Documentary Unit (Hilary Hutcheson, producer), University of Montana, "Anaconda: The Legacy," Montana PBS
Television Sports Reporting: Adam Harris and Jared Storck, Illinois State University, "Metamora Madness," TV-10 News
Television News Photography: Alanna Turner, University of Maryland at College Park, "Veterans Day," UMTV Cable
Television Feature Photography: Katie Lovetinsky, University of Texas at Austin, "Wildlife Park," KVR-TV Austin
Television Sports Photography: Laura Sobers and Josh Levine, University of Maryland at College Park, "Game Day," UMTV Cable
Television Daily Newscast : "KBYU News," Brigham Young University, KBYU-TV
Television Non-Daily Newscast : "KVR News," (Katie Lovetinsky, news director, Richard Neel, producer), University of Texas at Austin, KVR-TV Austin

Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?