Home    Sign In    Join    Give    More

> Latest News, Blogs and Events (tap to expand)

Home > SPJ News > SPJ announces winners of the 2016 High School Essay Contest

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

SPJ announces winners of the 2016 High School Essay Contest



Abbi Martzall, SPJ Awards Coordinator, 317-927-4791, awards@spj.org
Maggie LaMar, SPJ Communications Coordinator, 317-927-4785, mlamar@spj.org

INDIANAPOLIS-- The Society of Professional Journalists and the Journalism Education Association are pleased to announce three scholarship winners in the 2016 SPJ/JEA High School Essay Contest.
Professional educators judged 278 essays from students in grades 9-12 on the topic of "Why is it important that we have news media that are independent of the government?" Thirty finalists were selected, and those essays were judged by members of JEA's Scholastic Journalism Week committee.

2016 SPJ/JEA High School Essay Contest Award Winners:
First Place, $1,000 Scholarship Winner:
Simon Levien, Sparta High School, Sparta, New Jersey

Second Place, $500 Scholarship Winner:
David Oks, The Masters School, Dobbs Ferry, New York

Third Place, $300 Scholarship Winner:
Christine Condon, Dulaney High School, Timonium, Maryland

Complete essays from the winners can be read on the SPJ or JEA websites.

SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to informing citizens; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and fights to protect First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press. Support excellent journalism and fight for your right to know. Become a member, give to the Legal Defense Fund, or give to the Sigma Delta Chi Foundation.

Founded in 1924, the Journalism Education Association supports free and responsible scholastic journalism by providing resources and educational opportunities, by promoting professionalism, by encouraging and rewarding student excellence and teacher achievement, and by fostering an atmosphere which encompasses diversity yet builds unity. It is headquartered at Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kansas. For further information about JEA, please visit www.jea.org.

Copyright © 1996-2020 Society of Professional Journalists. All rights reserved.

Twitter Facebook Instagram LinkedIn RSS


Society of Professional Journalists
Eugene S. Pulliam National Journalism Center
3909 N. Meridian St., Suite 200
Indianapolis, IN 46208

Contact SPJ Headquarters
Employment Opportunities
Advertise with SPJ