Home > SPJ News > SPJ recognizes two members’ contributions with Howard Dubin Award

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

SPJ recognizes two members’ contributions with Howard Dubin Award


Abbi Martzall, SPJ Awards Coordinator, (317) 920-4791, amartzall@spj.org
Rachel Semple, SPJ Communications Coordinator, (317) 920-4785, rsemple@spj.org

INDIANAPOLIS — Jason Parsley and Robyn Davis Sekula have received the Howard S. Dubin Outstanding Pro Member Award from the Society of Professional Journalists for their outstanding contributions to their SPJ chapters and regions.

Each year, the Howard Dubin Award is given to no more than two members — one from a chapter of 75 or more members and one from less than 75 members. The award is in honor of longtime SPJ member of the Chicago Headline Club Howard Dubin, who not only contributes time and money to the Society but also remains dedicated to service at the chapter level.

Jason Parsley
Parsley was nominated by members of the SPJ Florida chapter. As Florida’s Vice President of Membership, he led the switch from SPJ South Florida to the expanded SPJ Florida Pro Chapter, which now also includes Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.

Robyn Davis Sekula
Sekula was nominated by Dana Neuts and Alex Veeneman. She is president of the Louisville Pro Chapter and chair of the Membership Committee for SPJ national. Throughout her 10 years as an SPJ member, Sekula has brought exciting programming to her chapter, helped plan regional conferences and created the national #SPJ4All initiative.

Parsley and Sekula will be recognized at Excellence in Journalism 2016 in New Orleans, Sept. 18-20.

SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to informing citizens; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and fights to protect First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press. Support excellent journalism and fight for your right to know. Become a member, give to the Legal Defense Fund, or give to the Sigma Delta Chi Foundation.


Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?