Home > SPJ News > Four students earn scholarships in SPJ/JEA Essay Contest

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

Four students earn scholarships in SPJ/JEA Essay Contest


Abbi Martzall, SPJ Events Coordinator, 317-920-4791, amartzall@spj.org
Rachel Semple, SPJ Communications Coordinator, 317-920-4785, rsemple@spj.org

MANHATTAN, Kan. — The Journalism Education Association and the Society of Professional Journalists announce four scholarship winners in the 2017 SPJ/JEA High School Essay Contest.

Nearly 150 students participated in the nationwide contest, which was judged by 26 journalism educators. Established in 1998, the contest is a project of both the JEA and SPJ. The topic for the 2017 contest — “Why is it important for a democratic society to have women involved in professional media and legal roles? What can be done to reverse the dearth of females in these professions?” — was selected by members of the Scholastic Press Rights Committee of JEA and a representative of SPJ.

“Impactful journalism can be produced at any age and experience level. The next generation of journalists is already working hard to take on important issues and that is exactly what our society needs to succeed. It’s critical that more women are involved in media and legal roles in our country,” said Lynn Walsh, SPJ National President. “SPJ is pleased to see so many high school students taking an early interest in journalism.”

“The winning entries showed solid research and a straightforward writing style that made for compelling calls to action and strong conclusions,” Linda S. Puntney, MJE and interim JEA executive director, said. “The depth of understanding of the issue was impressive.”

2017 SPJ/JEA High School Essay Contest award winners:

First Place, $1,000 Scholarship Winner:
Lauryn Wu, Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, Alexandria, Virginia

Second Place, $500 Scholarship Winners:
Aliza Diepenbrock, Spring Street International School, Friday Harbor, Washington
Carolyn Harper, Bob Jones High School, Madison, Alabama

Third Place, $300 Scholarship Winner:
Eileen Yang, Peddie School, Hightstown, New Jersey

Founded in 1924, the Journalism Education Association supports free and responsible scholastic journalism by providing resources and educational opportunities, by promoting professionalism, by encouraging and rewarding student excellence and teacher achievement, and by fostering an atmosphere which encompasses diversity yet builds unity. It is headquartered at Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kansas. For further information about JEA, please visit www.jea.org.

SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to informing citizens; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and fights to protect First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press. Support excellent journalism and fight for your right to know. Become a member, give to the Legal Defense Fund, or give to the Sigma Delta Chi Foundation.


Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?