Home > SPJ News > Todd, Rosenthal, Woodruff honored as Fellows of the Society for outstanding service to journalism

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

Todd, Rosenthal, Woodruff honored as Fellows of the Society for outstanding service to journalism

7/13/2018 8:43:45 AM

Christine Cordial, Program Coordinator, 317-920-4788, ccordial@spj.org
Isaac Taylor, SPJ Communications Coordinator, 317-920-4785, itaylor@spj.org

INDIANAPOLIS — The Society of Professional Journalists recognizes Chuck Todd, Robert J. Rosenthal and Judy Woodruff as Fellows of the Society, the highest professional honor awarded by SPJ, for extraordinary contribution to the profession of journalism.

Chuck Todd is currently the moderator of NBC’s “Meet the Press” and NBC News political director. He has covered politics for nearly three decades, serving as NBC News chief White House correspondent from 2008 to 2014 and hosting MSNBC’s “The Daily Rundown” from 2010 to 2014. Prior to joining NBC News, Todd spent 15 years at the National Journal’s “The Hotline,” serving as editor-in-chief for six of those years.

“Todd spearheads the network’s premier political coverage, offering his sharp analysis and translation of Beltway politics across all platforms – zeroing in on what really matters in Washington and why,” said Sarah Blackwell, Senior Producer of “Meet the Press.” “He is known for holding politicians and newsmakers accountable: from pressing White House Counselor Kellyanne Conway on ‘alternative facts’ to asking House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi if accused Congressman John Conyers should be ‘in or out,’ his interviews and deep-sourced reporting consistently drive headlines, and have made ‘Meet the Press’ the #1 most-watched Sunday public affairs program for the 2016-2017 season.”

Todd’s cable show (“MTP Daily”) and his podcast (“1947: The Meet the Press Podcast”) showcase his provocative interviewing style and have helped to expand “Meet the Press,” the longest-running show in television history, into the modern age. Todd is also the author of two books: “How Barack Obama Won,” released in 2009 and co-authored with Sheldon Gawiser; and “The Stranger: Barack Obama in the White House,” released in 2014.

Robert J. Rosenthal was nominated for his remarkable contributions to journalism after many years as an award-winning journalist, and later as executive director of the Center for Investigative Reporting.

His career in journalism has spanned nearly 50 years. Beginning as editorial assistant on the Pulitzer Prize-winning Pentagon Papers project at The New York Times, Rosenthal spent the next three decades working for the Times, Boston Globe, Philadelphia Inquirer and the San Francisco Chronicle. He is the recipient of the Overseas Press Club Award for magazine writing and the 1985 Sigma Delta Chi award for foreign correspondence. Rosenthal is also a Pulitzer Prize finalist in international reporting.

“Robert — affectionately known within journalism as ‘Rosey’ — continues to distinguish himself as a consummate leader in journalism ethics and a mentor, leader and innovator in journalism,” said Thomas J. Brennan, founder of The War Horse and Rosenthal’s nominator. “Rosey has been the most vocal and proactive supporter and advisor to our newsroom, helping me to grow our team and fundraise our operating budget — helping to triple our budget in two years and to forge partnerships at graduate schools of journalism at NYU, CUNY, and Columbia University. Because of his leadership and unwavering support, our newsroom has the strong moral and ethical foundation on which all newsrooms should be built.”

Rosenthal currently serves as a board member at the Center for Investigative Reporting, the Institute for Nonprofit News and the Carey Institute for Global Good.

Judy Woodruff is anchor and managing editor of the PBS NewsHour. A multi-award-winning journalist, she has spent more than four decades covering politics across networks. Woodruff served as anchor and senior correspondent for CNN for 12 years, was the chief Washington correspondent for the MacNeil/Lehrer NewHour at PBS from 1983 to 1993 and anchored PBS’ “Frontline with Judy Woodruff” from 1984 to 1990.

“Over her 50 years in the TV news business, Judy Woodruff has truly become the dean of political reporters. From her earliest days in Atlanta — where she parlayed a position as secretary at the local ABC affiliate into a five-year stint covering the Georgia Statehouse — Woodruff has offered reasoned and responsible coverage of our nation's top political players,” said the SPJ Executive Committee awards selection team. “She's covered every president and convention since Jimmy Carter. She's lent her name and her advocacy to more than a dozen organizations dedicated to good journalism. SPJ is exceptionally proud to add Judy Woodruff to its list of Fellows of the Society.”

Woodruff is a founding co-chair of the International Women's Media Foundation, an organization committed to promoting and encouraging females in communication industries worldwide. She is the recent recipient of the Cine Lifetime Achievement award, the Edward R. Murrow Lifetime Achievement Award in Broadcast Journalism/Television and the inaugural Gwen Ifill Press Freedom Award from the Committee to Protect Journalists, among many others.

Todd, Rosenthal and Woodruff will be honored as Fellows of the Society at the Excellence in Journalism 2018 conference, in Baltimore, Sept. 27-29. During the President’s Installation Banquet on Sept. 29, they will each receive a jeweled key and plaque for their contributions. A list of previous honorees is available here.

SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to informing citizens; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and fights to protect First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press. Support excellent journalism and fight for your right to know. Become a member, give to the Legal Defense Fund, or give to the Sigma Delta Chi Foundation.


Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?