Home > SPJ News > SPJ recognizes two members’ outstanding contributions with Howard Dubin Award

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

SPJ recognizes two members’ outstanding contributions with Howard Dubin Award


Christine Cordial, Program Coordinator, 317-920-4788, ccordial@spj.org
Isaac Taylor, SPJ Communications Coordinator, 317-920-4785, itaylor@spj.org

INDIANAPOLIS — Navid Nonahal and Jennifer Ellis were selected to receive the Howard S. Dubin Outstanding Pro Member Award from the Society of Professional Journalists for their outstanding contributions to their SPJ chapters and regions.

Each year, this award is given to no more than two members — one from a chapter of 75 or more members and one from less than 75 members. The award is in honor of longtime SPJ member of the Chicago Headline Club Howard Dubin, who not only contributes time and money to the Society but also remains dedicated to service at the chapter level.

Navid Nonahal
Nonahal was nominated by Roberta Wax, former Dubin Award honoree, and Dr. Richard Hendrickson, treasurer of the Greater Los Angeles Pro Chapter. She has been on her chapter board for nearly two decades, having served as chapter president for three consecutive years. Nonahal is described as a driving force in the Greater Los Angeles Pro Chapter’s success, playing pivotal roles in chapter events, membership drives, insurance research, financial stewardship and more. As immediate past president of the chapter, Nonahal continues to contribute her institutional knowledge, unique expertise and optimistic voice to chapter work.

Jennifer Ellis
Ellis was nominated by several members of the Arkansas Pro Chapter and its board. She is the current chapter president and plays a key role in organizing, marketing and overseeing chapter events, including this year’s Region 12 Conference in Little Rock. Her fellow board members credit Ellis for helping to revitalize the chapter, increase its membership and plan robust, regular programming. It addition, she manages the chapter’s social media accounts and website, all while maintaining her daily work at Arkansas’ largest newspaper, the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette.

Nonahal and Ellis will be recognized at Excellence in Journalism 2018 in Baltimore, Sept. 27-29.

SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to informing citizens; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and fights to protect First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press. Support excellent journalism and fight for your right to know. Become a member, give to the Legal Defense Fund, or give to the Sigma Delta Chi Foundation.


Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?