> Latest News, Blogs and Events (tap to expand)

Home    Sign In    Join    Give

Advertise with SPJ

Advertise with SPJ
Advertise with SPJ

Home > SPJ News > SPJ announces outstanding campus chapter and program regional honorees

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

SPJ announces outstanding campus chapter and program regional honorees

8/23/2018 1:14:22 PM


Christine Cordial, SPJ Program Coordinator, (317) 920-4788, ccordial@spj.org
Isaac Taylor, SPJ Communications Coordinator, (317) 920-4785, itaylor@spj.org

INDIANAPOLIS — The Society of Professional Journalists is pleased to honor a select group of campus chapters for their outstanding work in supporting the Society’s missions, members and journalism.

Each year, SPJ’s 12 regional directors select a campus chapter in their region that has shown overall excellence. At-large directors review nominations and help select the winning campus chapter.

Outstanding Campus Chapter finalists are:

Region 1 – Ithaca College
Region 2 – George Mason University
Region 3 – Florida International University
Region 4 – Ohio University
Region 5 – DePaul University
Region 6 – University of Minnesota
Region 7 – n/a
Region 8 – University of Texas at Arlington
Region 9 – Colorado State University
Region 10 – University of Idaho
Region 11 – California State University, Sacramento
Region 12 – n/a

Starting this year, SPJ will also honor outstanding campus programming from across its 12 regions. Regional directors select one high-caliber program hosted by a campus chapter in their region. At-large directors review nominations and help select the winning program.

Campus Program of the Year finalists are:

Region 1 – Syracuse University: Google News Lab
Region 2 – University of Maryland: Free Speech in the Age of Trump
Region 3 – Florida International University: Stirring up the Media
Region 4 – Central Michigan University: FOIA Project
Region 5 – DePaul University: Public Newsroom series
Region 6 – University of Minnesota: Concert Photography and Music Journalism
Region 7 – n/a
Region 8 – University of Texas at Arlington: Sexual Assault Awareness Month: How is the media doing covering sexual assault issues?
Region 9 – Weber State University: GRAMAmania
Region 10 – University of Idaho: Women in Sports Media
Region 11 – University of La Verne: City of La Verne Police Department partnership
Region 12 – n/a

One overall winner and one runner-up for each award will be announced during the Student Union at the Excellence in Journalism 2018 conference in Baltimore. To see a map of the regions and a list of campus chapters, click here. Read more about the selection process and past winners here.

SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to informing citizens; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and fights to protect First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press. Support excellent journalism and fight for your right to know. Become a member, give to the Legal Defense Fund, or give to the Sigma Delta Chi Foundation.


Twitter Facebook Instagram LinkedIn RSS

Copyright © 1996-2019 Society of Professional Journalists. All rights reserved.

Twitter Facebook Instagram LinkedIn RSS

Legal | Policies

Society of Professional Journalists
Eugene S. Pulliam National Journalism Center
3909 N. Meridian St., Suite 200
Indianapolis, IN 46208

Contact SPJ Headquarters
Employment Opportunities
Advertise with SPJ