Home > SPJ News > William Paterson University named SPJ Outstanding Campus Chapter

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

William Paterson University named SPJ Outstanding Campus Chapter


Lou Harry, SPJ Awards, 317-920-4786, lharry@spj.org
Zoλ Berg, SPJ Communications Coordinator, 317-920-4785, zberg@spj.org

INDIANAPOLIS — The Society of Professional Journalists selected William Paterson University as the Outstanding Campus Chapter. This award honors chapters for their commitment to SPJ’s mission and to the journalism profession.

William Paterson SPJ presented a series of 18 programs called “Reality Check,” which covered a range of topics, and continued a “shadow” program which started last year. Students shadowed a theater critic and a professional basketball announcer.

This year’s runner-up is DePaul University for its public newsroom series that brings student journalists and the public together.

These honorees were chosen from a select group of campus chapters for their outstanding work in supporting the Society’s missions, members and journalism.

Each year, SPJ’s 12 regional coordinators and directors select a campus chapter in their region that has shown overall excellence.

Outstanding Campus Chapter finalists are:
• Region 1 – William Paterson University
• Region 2 – George Mason University
• Region 3 – Florida International University
• Region 4 – Cleveland State University
• Region 5 – DePaul University
• Region 6 – University of Minnesota
• Region 7 – N/A
• Region 8 – University of Oklahoma
• Region 9 – Colorado State University – Pueblo
• Region 10 – Western Washington University
• Region 11 – California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
• Region 12 – University of Louisiana at Lafayette

The winner and finalists were announced and recognized virtually Thursday night at the first SPJ Student Summit. The event featured a keynote from social media guru Dave Jorgenson, the self-proclaimed Washington Post TikTok guy, and was emceed by SPJ National President Matthew T. Hall and SPJ Board member and Journalism Education Committee Chair Yvette Walker.

Campus Program of the Year winners and finalists were also announced at the event. To see a map of the regions and a list of campus chapters, click here. Read more about the selection process and past winners here.

SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to informing citizens; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and fights to protect First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press. Support excellent journalism and fight for your right to know. Become a member, give to the Legal Defense Fund or give to the SPJ Foundation.


Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?