Watch: A conversation with incoming SPJ Executive Director Caroline Hendrie

Caroline Hendrie joins SPJ President Ashanti Blaize-Hopkins to discuss her career, the state of the industry, and her vision for SPJ’s next chapter.

Home > SPJ News > SPJ announces Mark of Excellence Awards winners recognizing the best collegiate journalism

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

SPJ announces Mark of Excellence Awards winners recognizing the best collegiate journalism


Lou Harry, Manager of Publications and Awards, 317-920-4786,
Ashlynn Neumeyer, SPJ Communications Coordinator, 317-361-4133,

INDIANAPOLIS — The Society of Professional Journalists recognizes the best collegiate journalism across the country with 2020 Mark of Excellence Awards winners.

Winners are first chosen at a regional level. First-place winners will compete at the national level among other regional MOE winners from the 12 SPJ regions. National winners will be notified in the late spring and will be recognized at SPJ’s national conference. 

MOE Awards entries are judged by professionals with at least three years of journalism experience. Judges were directed to choose entries they felt were among the best in student journalism. If no entry rose to the level of excellence, no award was given. Any category not listed has no winner.

School divisions are based on student enrollment, including both graduate and undergraduate: Large schools have at least 10,000 students and small schools have 9,999 or fewer students.

The list below links to all of the regional winners. If you have any questions regarding the MOE Awards, contact Manager of Publications and Awards Lou Harry by email or 317-920-4786.

New MOE categories were added this year for COVID-19 and video game reporting.

• Region 1 — Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Central and Eastern Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont.
• Region 2 — Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, North Carolina and Virginia.
• Region 3 — Alabama, Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.
• Region 4 — Michigan, Ohio, West Virginia and Western Pennsylvania.
• Region 5 — Illinois, Indiana and Kentucky.
• Region 6 — Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin. 
• Region 7 — Iowa, Kansas, Missouri and Nebraska. 
• Region 8 —Oklahoma and Texas. 
• Region 9 — Colorado, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming. 
• Region 10 — Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon and Washington. 
• Region 11 — Arizona, California, Guam, Hawaii, Northern Mariana Islands and Nevada. 
• Region 12 — Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi and Tennessee. 

SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to informing citizens; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and fights to protect First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press. Support excellent journalism and fight for your right to know. Become a member, give to the Legal Defense Fund or give to the SPJ Foundation.


Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?