Home > SPJ News > SPJ elects 2021-22 Board of Directors and Regional Coordinators

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

SPJ elects 2021-22 Board of Directors and Regional Coordinators


Rebecca Aguilar, SPJ National President, 317-361-4134, rebeccaaguilar50@gmail.com
Zoë Berg, SPJ Communications Coordinator, 317-920-4785, zberg@spj.org

INDIANAPOLIS — The Society of Professional Journalists membership has elected its 2021-22 Board of Directors and Regional Coordinators.

The winners were sworn in at the SPJ21 Closing Business Meeting, along with SPJ’s 105th President Rebecca Aguilar, who became president-elect in 2020. They were sworn in by 2020-21 National President Matthew T. Hall. Aguilar is a 40-year journalist and current freelance reporter based in Dallas. She is also the first Latina national president of the Society.

Additions to SPJ’s 2021-22 Board of Directors are:
— President-Elect: Claire Regan is a contributing writer to print and web at the Staten Island Advance and an adjunct assistant professor of journalism at Wagner College. She is a 25-year member of the New York Deadline Club, serving three terms as its president. She is also a member of the New Jersey Pro Chapter. Last year, Regan was an at-large director.
— Secretary-Treasurer: Ivette Davila Richards is a freelance regional assignment editor for the National Desk at Fox News Channel. She is the SPJ Diversity & Inclusion Committee vice chair, chair of the SPJ Finance Committee and an executive council board member for the Deadline Club, SPJ’s New York City chapter. She was also secretary-treasurer last year.
— At-Large Director (two-year term): Emily Bloch is an education reporter at The Florida Times-Union. She serves as president of the Florida Pro Chapter and SPJ Membership Committee chair.
— At-Large Director (two-year term): Daniela Ibarra is a television reporter/multimedia journalist at KTUL, the ABC affiliate in Tulsa, Oklahoma. She is a member of the SPJ Diversity & Inclusion Committee.

New Regional Coordinators, who do not serve on SPJ’s Board of Directors, are:
— Region 1: Chris Vaccaro is vice president of digital news at Altice USA and director of graduate journalism and an assistant adjunct professor at Hofstra University. He is on the board of the Press Club of Long Island. He previously held this position.
— Region 2: Stephenie Overman is a freelance reporter who writes extensively about labor and employment issues. She previously held this position.
— Region 3: Michael Koretzky is the editor of Debt.com. He previously held this position.
— Region 6: Joseph Radske is the news director at KVRR-TV, Fargo-Moorhead. He previously held this position.
— Region 7: Jason Edwards is a community reporter for LNC News in Wichita, Kansas, and co-owner of Wichita TV 7 LLC.
— Region 10: Donald Meyers is a reporter/multimedia journalist at the Yakima Herald Republic. He previously held this position.
— Region 11: Bryan Horwath is the casinos and gaming reporter for the Las Vegas Sun.
— Region 12: Jennifer Ellis is the creative services managing editor at the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette. She is on the board of directors for the Arkansas Pro Chapter. She previously held this position.

Regional Coordinators serve two-year terms, with half of the 12 RCs being up for re-election each year.

The first Board meeting for the new board will take place Sept. 18.

SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to informing citizens; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and fights to protect First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press. Support excellent journalism and fight for your right to know. Become a member, give to the Legal Defense Fund or give to the SPJ Foundation.


Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?