Home > SPJ News > Society Recognizes Outstanding Members, Chapters at Close of Convention

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

Society Recognizes Outstanding Members, Chapters at Close of Convention


News editors, Business editors, Feature editors,
Photo editors, Assignment desks

Sarah A. Shrode, SPJ Director of Communications, 425/452-4846 or sshrode@spj.org

DOUBLETREE HOTEL, BELLEVUE, Wash. – The Society of Professional Journalists awarded its chapter awards and other special honors Saturday during events at the 2001 SPJ National Convention.

The 2000-2001 winners are:

Howard S. Dubin Outstanding Pro Chapter Member:
Lauren Bartlett, UCLA Office of Media Relations, of the Los Angeles Pro Chapter (large chapter) and Travis Poling, San Antonio Express-News, of the San Antonio Pro Chapter (small chapter)

Distinguished Teaching in Journalism Award:
Roger Simpson of the University of Washington

David L. Eshelman Outstanding Campus Adviser Award:
Charles N. Davis, University of Missouri School of Journalism

Julie Galvan Outstanding Campus Chapter Member Award:
Aimee Heckel, graduate of Colorado State University

Ethics in Journalism Award:
Otis Chandler and the newsroom staff of the Los Angeles Times

Robert D.G. Lewis First Amendment Award:
Candace Baltz, Washington State University

Fellows of the Society:
Bruce Brugmann, editor and publisher of the San Francisco Bay Guardian;
Dori Maynard, president of the Robert C. Maynard Institute for Journalism Education and member of the Sigma Delta Chi Foundation board of directors; and
David Shaw, staff writer for the Los Angeles Times.

President’s Award:
John Hopkins, chairman of the SPJ International Journalism Committee; and Sarah Shrode, SPJ Director of Marketing & Communications.

First Amendment and Freedom of Information Activity – Northern California Pro (large) and Greater Oregon Pro (small)

Campus Relations and Scholarship Activities – Connecticut Pro (large) and Greater Tri-Cities Pro (small)

Minority Relations and Activities Promoting Diversity Among Journalists – San Diego Pro (large) and Virginia Pro (small)

Professional Development and Continuing Education Programs – Chicago Headline Club (large) and Valley of the Sun Pro (small)

Chapter Newsletters – Washington D.C. Pro and Forth Worth Pro (tie for large) and Bluegrass Pro (small)

Large Pro – Western Washington Pro
Small Pro – Valley of the Sun Pro
Campus – Colorado State University

Large Pro Chapters
Region 1
– Press Club of Long Island
Region 2 – Washington D.C. Pro
Region 3 – No award
Region 4 – Pittsburgh Pro
Region 5 – (tie) Chicago Headline Club and Indiana Pro
Region 6 – Minnesota Pro
Region 7 – No award
Region 8 – Fort Worth Pro
Region 9 – Colorado Pro
Region 10 – Western Washington Pro
Region 11 – San Diego Pro
Region 12 – No award

Small Pro Chapters:
Region 1
– No award
Region 2 – Virginia Pro
Region 3 – Mid-Florida Pro
Region 4 – No award
Region 5 – Bluegrass Pro
Region 6 – Madison Pro
Region 7 – Southwest Missouri Pro
Region 8 – San Antonio Pro
Region 9 – Utah Headliners
Region 10 – Farthest North Pro
Region 11 – Valley of the Sun Pro
Region 12 – Arkansas Pro

Campus Chapters:
Region 1
– Westfield State College
Region 2 – Appalachian State University
Region 3 – University of Florida
Region 4 – Bowling Green State University
Region 5 – Western Kentucky University
Region 6 – St. Cloud State University
Region 7 – University of Iowa
Region 8 – No award
Region 9 – Colorado State University
Region 10 – University of Oregon
Region 11 – University of Nevada-Reno
Region 12 – Mississippi University for Women

The Society of Professional Journalists works to improve and protect journalism. The organization is the nation’s largest and most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior. Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press.


Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?