Home > SPJ News > Chapter Briefs

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

Chapter Briefs


Emerson College Chapter named organization of the year
BOSTON - The Emerson College Student Chapter was awarded Organization of the
Year at Hand Me Down Night, the college's annual award ceremony.
The chapter's officers were congratulated for reviving a nearly
defunct organization. President Cynthia Roy, Vice-President Sarah Logan,
Treasurer Georgia Young and graduating Secretary Hillary Saylor co-hosted a
speaker series featuring journalists from National Public Radio, held a
workshop for high school students launching a newspaper, and collected
school supplies to send to new schools in Afghanistan.
The chapter also hosted media lawyer Carol Rose and organized a sports
reporting panel and a journalism job workshop. Journalism professor Bob
Stepno and journalism department chair Jerry Lanson were the chapter's
co-advisors this year.

Five new members selected for Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame
GREENCASTLE, Ind. _ The Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame inducted five new members during an April 13 ceremony.
The Hall of Fame, created in 1966 by the Indiana professional chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists, is housed at DePauw University. The Hall recognizes those with significant Indiana ties who have demonstrated they are journalists of the highest distinction.
Those being inducted were:
Phil Jones, a reporter at CBS News for 32 years before retiring in 2001. He was the winner of several Emmy awards during a career in which he covered Vietnam, Watergate and Iran-Contra, including assignments as the network's congressional or White House correspondent and on "48 Hours." Jones grew up in Fairmount and graduated from Indiana University.

Gene Miller, a two-time winner of the Pulitzer Prize for his investigative reporting at The Miami Herald. Miller grew up in Evansville and graduated from Indiana University in 1950. He started his career at the Fort Wayne Journal Gazette, then moved to Florida, where he won Pulitzers in 1967 and 1976 for reporting on the state's criminal
justice system that exonerated people convicted in murder cases.

Ray Moscowitz, retired editorial director and executive editor for the Indiana-based Nixon Newspapers chain. He began a 29-year career with Nixon as a reporter at The Frankfort Times, moving to Indiana after growing up in Los Angeles. He later was managing editor in Frankfort, editor of The Michigan City News-Dispatch and publisher of The Wabash Plain Dealer and The Peru Tribune. As Nixon's editorial director, he oversaw recruitment and training.

Betty Wason, a pioneering woman in radio journalism when she worked for CBS in Czechoslovakia, Norway and Greece from 1938 to 1941 as a war correspondent. Wason grew up in Delphi and graduated from Purdue
University. She went on to write 27 books, including "Miracle in Hellas" about the Axis invasion of Greece and _ at the age of 86 _ a book about the disease macular degeneration that robbed her of much of her vision. She also was a Washington talk show host, women's editor for the Voice of America and spent six years as moderator for "Author Rap Sessions" on NBC.

William Miller Herschell, a journalist and poet who was a reporter at The Indianapolis News for 37 years. Herschell's best-know work is the poem "Ain't God Good to Indiana," which is inscribed on a plaque in the Statehouse rotunda. He was born in Spencer and attended school in Huntingburg. Miller worked at newspapers in Huntingburg and Princeton before joining The News in 1902 as a features writer.

Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?