Home > SPJ News > 2004 High School Essay Contest Scholarship Winners

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

2004 High School Essay Contest Scholarship Winners


Contact: Gail Kiles, Assistant Programs Director, 317/927.8000 ext.204 or gkiles@spj.org
Julie Grimes, Deputy Executive Director, 317.927.8000 ext.216 or jgrimes@spj.org

SPJ announces and congratulates the three scholarship winners in the 2004 High School Essay Contest.

Hundreds of public, private and home school students, grades nine through 12, submitted 300-500 word essays on “What Free Media Means to America.” Contest details may be found at http://www.spj.org/awards_hs.asp

The winners follow.

First Place, $1000 Scholarship Winner:
Heather Hamilton of Sentinel High School in Missoula, Montana

Second Place, $500 Scholarship Winner:
Logan Oyler of Hickory High School in Chesapeake, Virginia

Third Place, $300 Scholarship Winner:
Joey Muffler of Bishop Ireton High School in Alexandria, Virginia

The Society of Professional Journalists is the nation’s largest and most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior. Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry, works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists, and works to protect the First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press.

Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?