Watch: A conversation with incoming SPJ Executive Director Caroline Hendrie

Caroline Hendrie joins SPJ President Ashanti Blaize-Hopkins to discuss her career, the state of the industry, and her vision for SPJ’s next chapter.

Home > SPJ News > SPJ Announces the 2003 Mark of Excellence National Award Winners

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

SPJ Announces the 2003 Mark of Excellence National Award Winners


Jim Highland, Vice President Campus Chapter Affairs, 270/745-4144 or
Gail Kiles, Assistant Programs Director, 317/927-8000 ext.204 or

New York — The Society of Professional Journalists announced the 2003 Mark of Excellence Awards National Winners for outstanding student journalism at the 2004 SPJ national convention in New York City.

This year’s winners were chosen from more than 3,200 entries in 45 categories including print, radio, television and online. The Society has honored the best work in collegiate journalism since 1972.

"The winners of this Mark of Excellence competition should be especially proud of their accomplishments. This was the most competitive MOE contest in history. It attracted an all-time record number of entries. More than ever, these awards are honoring the best of the best," said Guy Baehr, the chairman of SPJ’s Awards and Honors Committee.

The awards, which recognized work published in 2003, were presented by Terry Harper, SPJ Executive Director, during a luncheon on Saturday, September 11. Before reaching the national competition, each finalist entry placed first at its respective regional competition. A complete list of regional winners may be found at

The Society of Professional Journalists is dedicated to improving and protecting journalism. It is the nation’s most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior. Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press.

2003 Mark of Excellence National Winners

Editorial Writing
The State Press, Arizona State University
FERPA shields students from real world

Editorial Cartooning
Dusty Higgins
The Arkansas Traveler, University of Arkansas

General Column Writing
Samantha Xanthos
The State Press, Arizona State University
Better to be outfitted in fatigues than apathy, and other columns

Sports Column Writing
Dustin Dopirak
Daily Collegian, The Pennsylvania State University

Spot News Reporting
Nick Kershbaumer
Daily Collegian, The Pennsylvania State University
Student dies in confrontation downtown

General News Reporting
Lisa Humes-Schultz, Emma Schwartz & My-Thuan Tran
The Daily Californian, University of California-Berkeley
Proposition 54 Campaign breaks UC spending codes

In-Depth Reporting
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Cuba: An Elusive Truth

Feature Writing
Colin McDonald
The Missoulian, Western Washington University
Rail Life

Sports Writing
Bruce Tran
The UCLA Daily Bruin, University of California-Los Angeles
Riding it Out

Best All-Around Daily Newspaper (4-5 times per week)
The Daily Bruin, University of California, Los Angeles

Best All-Around Non-Daily Newspaper (2-3 times per week)
The Hatchet, George Washington University

Best All-Around Non-Daily Newspaper
The Chart, Missouri Southern State University

Non-Fiction Article
Jordan Carleo-Evangelist
Vision Magazine, Boston University
The Press and Enron

Best Student Magazine (published once a year)
Renegade, University of Texas-Arlington

Best Student Magazine (published more than once a year)
The Burr, Kent State University

Spot News Photography
Jack Bland
Golden Gate [X]Press, San Francisco State University
Spraying the Camera Man

General News Photography
Andrew Logan
The Daily Mississippian, University of Mississsippi
Go to hell Ole Miss

Feature Photography
Amy Ellis
The Lumberjack, Northern Arizona University
Love proves Stronger than Death

Photo Illustration
Ken Michelson
The Daily, University of Washington
Delivering Khaelen

Sports Photography
Christine Weremy
Marquette Tribune, Marquette University
Panthers halt Eagles' offensive

Radio Spot News Reporting
August Skamenca
KBIA 91.3 FM, University of Missouri
Brazito Tornado

Radio Feature
Kim Hannold
PSU: ComRadio, The Pennsylvania State University
Black Caucus Rally

Radio In-Depth Reporting
Justin Terry
NPR News 91, Boise State University
The New Freedom Riders

Radio Sports Reporting
Brian Kern, Wesley Anderson, Brian Gustin & Theodore Tutson
WGRE 91.5 FM, DePauw University
Monon Bell Pre-game

Radio Daily Newscast
WERS 88.9 FM, Emerson College
The WERS News

Television Spot News Reporting
Tim Hagerty & Pat Driscoll
News 7, Lyndon State College
An Unlikely Fire

Television General News Reporting
Roxane Assaf
WYCC-TV, Northwestern University
Illegal Carlos

Television Feature
Jessica Abo
WYCC-TV, Northwestern University
Wrongfully Convicted

Television In-Depth Reporting
WYCC-TV, Northwestern University
America's Military: Changing Roles, Changing Rules

Television Sports Reporting
Marshall Lee & Lynn Beedle
Our American Journey, Norwich University
The Road Back to the Frozen Four

Television News Photography
Carolyn Wiedel
UMTV, University of Maryland
Vets Return

Television Feature Photography
Our American Journey, Norwich University
High School

Television Sports Photography
Our American Journey, Norwich University
The Road Back to the Frozen Four

Television Daily Newscast
TV-2 News, Kent State University

Television Non-Daily Newscast
Jane Choi
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Carolina Week

Online Spot News Reporting
Michael Barnett & Mosheh Oinounou
The GW Hatchet, George Washington University
GW student shoots UMD student, kills self

Online General News Reporting
Fanen Chiahemen, Stephen Mather, Amanda Karr & Nikole Albowicz
Maryland Newsline, University of Maryland
AIDS: Dealing with an Epidemic

Online Feature Reporting
Sarah Schaffer & Adam Newman
Capital News Service, University of Maryland
A Second Chance

Online In-Depth Reporting
Fanen Chiahemen, Stephen Mather & Nikole Albowicz
Capital News Service, University of Maryland
Legalizing Slots

Online Sports Reporting
Iditarod Coverage Team
Extreme Alaska, University of Alaska-Fairbanks
Iditarod Fairbanks

Online Opinion and Commentary
Staff, University of Alabama
Bailey Thomson package

Best All-Around Online Student Newspaper
The Digital Collegian, The Pennsylvania State University

Best All-Around Online Student Magazine
Leslie Stroope, Rami Daud & Jeff Baker
The Cy Burr, Kent State University

Best All-Around Online Student Broadcast Station
Tom Livingston, Krystal Tweeddale and Alex Brancard
Denver Cable Channel 54, Metropolitan State College of Denver
The Met Report

Best All-Around Independent Online Student Publication
Staff, University of Alabama

Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?