Home > SPJ News > 2005 High School Essay Contest Scholarship Winners

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

2005 High School Essay Contest Scholarship Winners


Contact: Heather Porter, Assistant Programs Director, 317/927.8000 ext.204 or hporter@spj.org

SPJ announces and congratulates the three scholarship winners in the 2005 High School Essay Contest. Hundreds of public, private and home school students, grades 9 through 12, submitted 300-500 word essays on “Why Free News Media Are Important.” Contest details may be found at http://www.spj.org/awards_hs.asp

First Place, $1000 Scholarship Winner:
Mindy Zhang of Robinson Secondary School in Fairfax, Virginia

Second Place, $500 Scholarship Winner:
Zachory John Drisko of Green Hope High School in Cary, North Carolina

Third Place, $300 Scholarship Winner:

Katie Roberts, a home schooled student, in Walnut Shade, Missouri

The Society of Professional Journalists is the nation’s largest and most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior.

Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry, works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists, and works to protect the First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press.

Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?