Home > SPJ News > SPJ broadcasting seminar to be held in Atlanta

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

SPJ broadcasting seminar to be held in Atlanta

SPJ News

Broadcast journalists from around the country will meet in Atlanta later this month to be a part of the Taishoff Broadcasting Seminar sponsored by the Society of Professional Journalists.

The seminar, scheduled for March 22-24, brings 28 early career broadcast journalists together for a weekend of presentations and discussions aimed at identifying new issues facing broadcasters. The seminar is designed to identify the future leaders of the broadcast industry and provide them with the tools they need to grow into the challenges they will face in the industry. Participants will be able to take a break from their daily jobs and see a broader perspective of the industry in general and what they can do to make it better.

Fellows were selected for participation after being nominated by SPJ leaders. They were chosen based on past achievements in the broadcast field.

"We're proud of this group of Taishoff fellows," said G. Kelly Hawes, SPJ president. "Each one brings a unique view, special talents and the excitement of someone new to the industry. It is our goal to use this program to nurture that energy and enthusiasm for the benefit of each individual and the broadcast community as a whole."

Topics to be covered throughout the weekend include: "Surviving and Succeeding in the Electronic Journalism Pressure Cooker," "How to Beat the Competition," "Crime and the Courts Versus Electronic Journalism," "Diversity in the Editorial Process," and "Election '96: The Political Beat."

Discussion leaders include: John Holliman, CNN; Monica Kaufman, WSB-TV, Atlanta; Joie Chen, CNN; Ralph Wenge, CNN; Russ Mitchell, CBS News; Teri Dickerson, A.W.R.T.; Virg Jacques, WBAL-TV, Baltimore; Richard Belcher, WSB-TV, Atlanta; Lou Prato of Lou Prato and Associates; Sheila Brooks of SRB Productions; and Caroline Lowe, WCCO-TV, Minneapolis.

CNN, the Cable News Network, headquartered in Atlanta, is hosting this year's seminar. During the weekend, the fellows will tour the CNN facilities and attend a broadcast of CNN's "Talk Back Live." The seminar is funded by the Sigma Delta Chi Foundation, education arm of the Society, through a grant from Cable News Network and a donation from Lawrence B. Taishoff.

Lawrence Taishoff is the son of the late Sol Taishoff, co-founder of Broadcasting Magazine and the first broadcasting president of Sigma Delta Chi, predecessor organization to SPJ. The seminars were started 11 years ago with a bequest from the estate of the elder Taishoff.

"These seminars are an important part of fulfilling my father's goals for nurturing the ambitions of early career journalists," said Taishoff. "It is my hope that they take full advantage of this opportunity to expand their horizons and improve their professions."

The seminars were started 11 years ago. The 1996 curriculum was developed by the SPJ Taishoff Task Force, chaired by Lauretta Harris, Fox News at Ten anchor, WDRB-TV, Louisville, Ky. In addition to CNN President Tom Johnson, other task force members are Lisa Cox, assignment editor, WJLA-TV, Washington, D.C.; Ed Godfrey, assistant to the general manager, WAVE-TV, Louisville, Ky.; and Reginald Stuart, assistant news editor/Washington bureau, Knight-Ridder, and SPJ past president.

The 1996 Taishoff Fellows are:

Michael Baugh, KDNL-TV, St. Louis, Mo.

Joana Canals, KSTU, Salt Lake City, Utah

Judy Chong, WPRI-TV, Providence, R.I.

Robin Clark, KAAB/KWOZ Radio, Batesville, Ark.

Gwyne Copeland, KEZI, Eugene, Ore.

Cherie Grzech, WILX-TV, Onondaga, Mich.

Sylvia Gurinsky, WPLG, Miami, Fla.

Shannon Harris, WILX-TV, Onondaga, Mich.

Heather Hays, KNDO, Yakima, Wash.

Kimberly Hicks, WAVE, Louisville, Ky.

Josef M. Holloway, WKRG-TV, Mobile, Ala.

Kurt Holzberlein, Columbine Cablevision, Fort Collins, Colo.

Katharyn Howe, KSLA-TV, Shreveport, La.

Curtis Jackson, WLKY-TV, Louisville, Ky.

Michile Smith Lam, formerly of WTVY-TV, Dothan, Ala.

Dana Larson, WDIO-TV, Duluth, Minn.

Bob Mayo, WTAE-TV, Pittsburgh, Pa.

Neki Mohan, WJTV, Jackson, Miss.

Lisa Myers, KESQ-TV, Palm Springs, Calif.

Peggy O'Leary, WRDW-TV, Augusta, Ga.

Steve Powell, WSFA, Montgomery, Ala.

Vineeta Sawkar, KSTP-TV, St. Paul, Minn.

Anna L. Sava, WNCN, Raleigh, N.C.

Charlene Shirk, KOTV, Tulsa, Okla.

Brian Sinkoff, Montgomery Community Television, Rockville, Md.

Brian Weiss, KCCI-TV, Des Moines, Iowa

Ronald T. Windham, All News Co., Springfield, Va.

April Zesbaugh, KCNC-TV, Denver, Colo.

Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?