Home > SPJ News > Leadership retreat attendees named

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

Leadership retreat attendees named

SPJ News

Fifty local SPJ chapter leaders will attend the 1997 Ted Scripps Leadership Retreat, scheduled for July 11-13 in Greencastle, Ind.

“The Ted Scripps Leadership Retreat is a key event for SPJ and its national and chapter leaders. The three-day experience at the birthplace of Sigma Delta Chi helps renew our commitment to the organization and to journalism,” said Steve Geimann, SPJ president. “Those chapter leaders selected for this year’s meeting will benefit from the experience and knowledge of long-time leaders, while trading notes with other local chapter leaders.”

The 1997 retreat program features sessions on fundraising, increasing membership, avoiding burnout and leadership strategies. The retreat is made possible by a grant from the sons of former Sigma Delta Chi President E.W. “Ted” Scripps. Scripps served as President in 1960-61 and was a long-time advocate of SPJ’s chapter network.

“We’re excited about this second class of leadership retreat attendees,” said Greg Christopher, SPJ executive director. “Last year’s group left Greencastle with renewed enthusiasm about SPJ and took that energy back to their chapters.”

Chapters not sending leaders to the 1997 retreat will be given top priority for the 1998 retreat. More details will be announced later this year.

Attendees include:

Michael Barnard, Indiana University, Bloomington, Ind; Anna Billingsley, Richmond Professional Chapter, Fredericksburg, Va.; Julia Bolen, Mid-Carolinas Professional Chapter, York, S.C.; Sandra Booker, Emerson College Chapter, Brockton, Mass.; Sharon Brooks, Nebraska Professional Chapter, Hastings, Neb.; Lester H. Brownlee, Columbia College Chapter, Chicago, Ill.; Jamie Butow, San Diego State University Chapter, San Diego, Calif.; Diana Campbell, North Professional Chapter, Fairbanks, Alaska; Sandra Colburn, University of Wisconsin Chapter, Andover, Minn.; Jeff Crider, Inland Professional Chapter, Temecula, Calif.; Bonna M. dela Cruz, Middle Tennessee Professional Chapter, Nashville, Tenn.; Donalyn Dela Cruz, University of Hawaii Chapter, Honolulu, Hawaii; Christine Diercks, Emporia State University Chapter, Agra, Kan.; Danielle Dudek, Winthrop University Chapter, Rock Hill, S.C.; Paul G. Engel, Cleveland Professional Chapter, Cleveland, Ohio; Todd Gillman, Dallas Professional Chapter, Dallas, Texas; Keith Greenwood, Michigan State University Chapter, East Lansing, Mich.; Amaura Harris, Florida A & M University Chapter, Lake Wales, Fla.; Spencer Hatton, William O. Douglas Chapter, Yakima, Wash.; Roy Hayhurst, Jr., University of Texas at Arlington Chapter, Arlington, Texas; Cathy Henderson, West Virginia Professional Chapter, St. Albans, W.Va.; Jeanette Hurt, Milwaukee Professional Chapter, Cedarburg, Wisc.; Roz Hutchinson, Kansas Professional Chapter, Wichita, Kan.; Elizabeth Kelly, Truman State University Chapter, Kirksville, Mo.; Daniel Kubiske, Washington D.C. Professional Chapter, Annandale, Va.; Rick Kupichella, Minnesota Pro Chapter, Minneapolis, Minn.; Daniel Lee, Indiana East Professional Chapter, Muncie, Ind.; Cynthia C. Lyles-Scott, University of Florida Chapter, Gainesville, Fla.; Christina Magarelli, Fordham University Chapter, Bronx, N.Y.; Pamela Mathis, Northern Mariana Islands Professional Chapter, Saipan, M.P.; Patrick J. McKeand, Indiana Professional Chapter, Indianapolis, Ind.; Jennifer McMenamin, University of Maryland Chapter, College Park, Md.; Jonathan Miller, Western Washington Professional Chapter, Bellevue, Wash.; Tamra L. Miller, Pacific Lutheran University Chapter, Tacoma, Wash.; Jennifer Moody, Williamette Valley Professional Chapter, Lebanon, Ore.; Elizabeth Norell, George Washington University Chapter, Arlington, Va.; Carolyn Ann Poirot, Forth Worth Professional Chapter, Fort Worth, Texas; Brigitte Greenberg, Connecticut Professional Chapter, Hartford, Conn.; Bruce Rodgers, Kansas City Press Club, Kansas City, Mo.; Louise Rogers, Maryland Professional Chapter, Catonsville, Md.; Philip Rudell, Central Ohio Professional Chapter, Columbus, Ohio; Leonel Sanchez, San Diego Professional Chapter, San Diego, Calif.; Mark Scarp, Valley of the Sun Professional Chapter, Scottsdale, Ariz.; Jerry Siebenmark, Wichita State University Chapter, Wichita, Kan.; Gabrielle Songe, Mid-South Professional Chapter, Eads, Tenn.; Sreenath Sreennasan, Columbia University Chapter, New York, N.Y.; Emily Walker, University of Washington Chapter, Seattle, Wash.; Brian Weber, Colorado Professional Chapter, Denver, Colo.; Anita Weier, Madison Professional Chapter, Madison, Wisc.; Jackie Yamanaka, Montana Professional Chapter, Billings, Mont.

Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?