Home > SPJ News > SPJ announces 2007 high school essay contest scholarship winners

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

SPJ announces 2007 high school essay contest scholarship winners

For Immediate Release:

Heather Porter, Programs Coordinator, (317) 927.8000 ext. 204
Beth King, Communications Manager, (317) 927-8000 ext. 211

Indianapolis – SPJ, the nation’s most broad-based journalism-advocacy organization, is pleased to announce three scholarship winners in the 2007 High School Essay Contest. Hundreds of public, private and home-schooled students in grades 9-12 submitted essays on the topic, “Why Free News Media Are Important.”

Professional and student SPJ chapters served as judges for the local round of the contest. First place local recipients advanced to the national round of judging that took place in April. The national judges were from the Mid-Michigan Professional Chapter of SPJ.

2007 High School Essay Contest Award Winners:

First Place, $1,000 Scholarship Winner:
David Kelly of Broomfield High School in Broomfield, Colo.

Second Place, $500 Scholarship Winner:
Dan Garon of Robbinsdale Armstrong High School in Plymouth, MN.

Third Place, $300 Scholarship Winner:
Erin Gowdy of Bob Jones High School in Madison, Ala.

Complete details about the High School Essay Contest may be found by visiting www.spj.org.

The Society of Professional Journalists is the nation’s most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior.

Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry, works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists, and works to protect the First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press. For further information about SPJ, please visit www.spj.org.


Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?