Home    Sign In    Join    Give    More

> Latest News, Blogs and Events (tap to expand)

Home > SPJ News > Society Recognizes Outstanding Chapters, Members at Convention Closing Banquet

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

Society Recognizes Outstanding Chapters, Members at Convention Closing Banquet


Contacts: Sarah A. Shrode, SPJ communications director, 614/233-7588

ADAM’S MARK HOTEL, COLUMBUS, Ohio — The Society of Professional Journalists awarded its chapter awards and other special honors Saturday night at the President’s Installation Banquet of the 2000 SPJ National Convention.

The 1999-2000 winners are:

Regional Director of the Year (tie): Region 1 Director Irwin Gratz and Region 8 Director Todd Gillman

Howard Dubin Outstanding Pro Chapter Member Award: Ron Miskoff of New Jersey Pro Chapter (large chapter) and John McWhorter of the Farthest North Pro Chapter (small chapter)

Distinguished Teaching in Journalism Award: Gary Rice of Southwest Texas State University

Julie Galvan Outstanding Campus Chapter Member Award: Meggan Everidge of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Fellows of the Society: Diane Rehm, Leonard Pitts and Nat Hentoff

Circle of Excellence Awards:

First Amendment and Freedom of Information activity: Minnesota (large) and New Jersey (small)
Campus Relations and Scholarship Activities: Forth Worth (large) and San Antonio (small)
Minority Relations and Activities Promoting Diversity Among Journalists: San Diego and Connecticut (tie for large) and San Antonio (small)
Professional Development and Continuing Education Programs: Western Washington (large) and Brazos Valley (small)
Chapter Newsletters: San Diego (large) and West Virginia (small)
Outstanding Chapters

Large Pro — San Diego
Small Pro — San Antonio
Campus — The University of Iowa
Regional Outstanding Chapters

Region 1 — Connecticut Pro
Region 2 — Washington D.C.
Region 3 — South Florida Pro
Region 4 — Detroit
Region 5 — Indiana
Region 6 — Minnesota
Region 7 — Kansas City
Region 8 — no winner
Region 9 — Colorado Pro
Region 10 — Greater Oregon
Region 11 — San Diego
Region 12 — no winner

SMALL PRO Region 1 — New Jersey
Region 2 — Virginia Pro
Region 3 — East Tennessee Pro
Region 4 — West Virginia Pro
Region 5 — Michiana Pro
Region 6 — Madison Pro
Region 7 — Kansas Pro
Region 8 — San Antonio Pro
Region 9 — Utah Pro
Region 10 — William O. Douglas
Region 11 — Inland Southern California
Region 12 — Arkansas Pro

Region 1 — Syracuse University
Region 2 — University of Maryland
Region 3 — University of Miami
Region 4 — Ohio University
Region 5 — Indiana University-Bloomington
Region 6 — St. Cloud State University
Region 7 — University of Iowa
Region 8 — Southwest Texas State University
Region 9 — Colorado State University
Region 10 — University of Oregon
Region 11 — San Diego State University
Region 12 — University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Copyright © 1996-2020 Society of Professional Journalists. All rights reserved.

Twitter Facebook Instagram LinkedIn RSS


Society of Professional Journalists
Eugene S. Pulliam National Journalism Center
3909 N. Meridian St., Suite 200
Indianapolis, IN 46208

Contact SPJ Headquarters
Employment Opportunities
Advertise with SPJ