Home > SPJ News > SPJ honors campus chapters for excellence

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

SPJ honors campus chapters for excellence


For Immediate Release

Lauren Rochester, Awards Coordinator, 317-927-8000 ext. 210, lrochester@spj.org
Scott Leadingham, Communications Coordinator, 317-927-8000 ext. 211, sleadingham@spj.org

INDIANAPOLIS -- The Society of Professional Journalists is pleased to honor a select group of campus chapters for their outstanding work.

Annually, each Regional Director selects one chapter in their region that has been outstanding in service to the Society, their campus and the journalism profession. From these 12 chapters, one chapter is selected by the Vice President for Campus Chapter Affairs as the Outstanding Campus Chapter of the Year.

The regional recipients include:

Region 1: Ithaca College
Region 2: Appalachian State University
Region 3: University of Florida
Region 4: Miami University of Ohio
Region 5: Indiana University, Bloomington
Region 6: Minnesota State University- Mankato
Region 7: Iowa State University
Region 8: Texas State University, San Marcos
Region 9: Colorado State University
Region 10: Pacific Lutheran University
Region 11: University of Arizona
Region 12: University of Mississippi

From this group, Indiana University, Bloomington was selected for the Outstanding Campus Chapter honor.

“In a year when we had several campus chapters that had great years, members of the Indiana University chapter did it all. They provided solid programming, increased membership and hosted a successful spring conference,” said Neil Ralston, Vice President for Campus Chapter Affairs. “On top of that, some chapter members have helped to draft "Dave's Law," a proposal named in honor of their late adviser, David L.
Adams. If the proposal becomes law, it would increase legal protections for high school and college media advisers in Indiana.”

The regional awards will be presented during individual regional meetings on Sept. 5 during the 2008 SPJ Convention & National Journalism Conference in Atlanta. Indiana University, Bloomington will receive their national award during a luncheon, also to be held on Sept. 5, at the Hyatt Regency Atlanta

Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well informed citizenry; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press. For more information about SPJ, please visit www.spj.org


Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?