Home > SPJ News > SPJ Awards ‘Fellow of Society’ Honor to Three Journalists

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

SPJ Awards ‘Fellow of Society’ Honor to Three Journalists


Contacts: Sarah A. Shrode, SPJ communications director, 614/233-7588

ADAM’S MARK HOTEL, COLUMBUS, Ohio — The Society of Professional Journalists named three journalists a Fellow of the Society, one of the highest honors SPJ bestows upon a professional.

The 2000 winners are:

* Diane Rehm, National Public Radio and WAMU radio host * Leonard Pitts, syndicated columnist, Miami Herald
* Nat Hentoff, syndicated columnist and widely recognized advocate for the First Amendment

The 2000 fellows will be recognized Saturday, Oct. 28, at the President’s Installation Banquet of the 2000 SPJ National Convention. The banquet will take place from 7:30-9:30 p.m. in the Woody Hayes Grand Ballroom of the Adam’s Mark Hotel, 50 N. Third St.

Fellows of the Society are recognized because of their extraordinary contributions to their profession. They are awarded jeweled keys and are invited to speak at a Society function or write an article for Quill magazine. As many as three fellows are recognized each year.

Media passes can be obtained at the SPJ registration desk or at the SPJ staff office at the Adam’s Mark Hotel in Columbus, Ohio, from Oct. 25-28. Media contact: Sarah A. Shrode, SPJ communications director.

Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?