Home > SPJ News > Winners of 2009 High School Essay Contest

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

Winners of 2009 High School Essay Contest


For Immediate Release:

Lauren Rochester, Awards Coordinator, 317-927-8000 ext. 210, lrochester@spj.org

INDIANAPOLIS – The Society of Professional Journalists is pleased to announce three scholarship winners in the 2009 High School Essay Contest. Hundreds of public, private and home-schooled students in grades 9-12 submitted essays on the topic, “Why Free News Media Are Important.”

Professional and student SPJ chapters served as judges for the local round of the contest. First place local recipients advanced to the national round of judging that took place in April. The national judges were from the Greater Cincinnati Pro Chapter of SPJ.

2009 High School Essay Contest Award Winners:

First Place, $1,000 Scholarship Winner:
Alix Cohen of Cypress Bay High School in Weston, Fla.

Second Place, $500 Scholarship Winner:
Victor Hollenberg of Staples High School in Westport, Conn.

Third Place, $300 Scholarship Winner:
Alyssa Patrick of Eisenhower High School in Yakima, Wash.

Complete details about the High School Essay Contest are here.

The Society of Professional Journalists is the nation’s most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior.

Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry, works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists, and works to protect the First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press. For further information about SPJ, please visit www.spj.org.


Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?