Home > SPJ News > SPJ announces Mark of Excellence Award winners

SPJ News
Latest SPJ News | RSS

SPJ announces Mark of Excellence Award winners


Contact: Traci Christler, director of membership and awards, 317/927-8000, ext. 204.

INDIANAPOLIS - The Society of Professional Journalists has selected the winners of the 1999 Mark of Excellence Awards for outstanding student journalism.

Overall winners include: University of Missouri, best daily television newscast; Western Kentucky University, best non-daily television newscast; The University of Texas at Austin, best daily newspaper; Brigham Young University, best online newspaper; James Madison University, best non-daily newspaper (published two to four times a week); Ithaca College, best non-daily newspaper (published once a week); Drake University, best magazine published once a year; and University of Mississippi, best magazine published more than once a year.

“The MOE awards are among the most prestigious that college journalism students can win,” said David E. Carlson, SPJ vice president for Campus Chapter Affairs. “Each of these winners was culled from among hundreds of entries nationwide, and each of these students should be very, very proud of a job well done.”

Students will accept their awards Oct. 26-28 at the SPJ National Convention in Columbus, Ohio. Mark of Excellence Award winners also won their respective regional competitions before moving on to the national competition.

A complete list of winners in the 36 categories follows. Honored for their accomplishments in 1999 are:

Editorial Writing
Rob Addy, The University of Texas at Austin

Editorial Cartooning
Patrick O’Connor, Kent State University

General Column Writing
Don Stewart, Pennsylvania State University

Sports Column Writing
Jerry Brewer, Western Kentucky University

Spot News Reporting
The Minnesota Daily Staff, University of Minnesoa- Twin Cities, “Academic Fraud Extra Edition”

General News Reporting
Leo Dirr, Weber State University, “Election Declared Invalid”

In-Depth Reporting
Jason R. Garcia, Kimberly Marselas, Alana Keynes, Claudia Assis, Vaishali Honawar, Shantee Woodards, Mia Burns, Nora Koch

University of Maryland, “Maryland’s Century Series”

Feature Writing
Will Potter, The University of Texas at Austin, “Ulster Project Series”

Sports Writing
Susan Mooring and Shorthorn Sports Staff, University of Texas at Arlington

Best All-Around Daily Student Newspaper
The Daily Texan, The University of Texas at Austin

Best All-Around Non-Daily Student Newspaper
(Published two to four times per week)
The Breeze, James Madison University

Best All-Around Non-Daily Student Newspaper
(Published once a week)
The Ithacan, Ithaca College

Best All-Around Online Student Newspaper
NewsNet, Brigham Young University

Non-Fiction Article
Maureen Moon, Boston University, “1 Maine”

Best Student Magazine published once per year
515 Magazine, Drake University

Best Student Magazine published more than once per year
Oxford Health and Fitness, University of Mississippi

Spot News Photography
Kevin Clark, University of Washington, “An Uneasy Peace”

General News Photography
Noppadol Paothong, Missouri Southern State College, “Nueva Vida”

Feature Photography
Jonathan Kirshner, Western Kentucky University, “Daddy’s Girl”

Photo Illustration
No award presented

Sports Photography
Mike Warren, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, “Overtime Save”

Radio Spot News Reporting
Patrick M. Sheehan, WMUL-FM, Marshall University, “The Reverend Birdsong”

Radio Feature
Ryan Rauzon, Brigham Young University, “Hispanic Markets”

Radio In-Depth Reporting
Frank J. Hogan, John Sadak, John Bruno, Brian Plasket, Bill Ryden, Kris Noyes, Dave Ward, Jason Helder, Fred Clark, Brian Heil, and Nicole Dorworth

Rowan University-WGLS-FM, “America’s Journey into the Millennium: Reflections Past, Present and Future”

Radio Sports Reporting
Haley Stewart, Southern Illinois University-Carbondale, “Risk Takers”

Radio Daily Newscast
No award presented

Television Spot News Reporting
Erin Lewis and Charlie Berg, Lyndon State College, “Littleton River Floods”

Television General News Reporting
Kiet Do, San Jose State University, “Warfare”

Television Feature
Bjorn Ruud, University of North Dakota-Studio One, “Shoe Repair Man”

Television In-Depth Reporting
Mark Greenblatt, University of Missouri, “Bad Bridges”

Television Sports Reporting
Jesse Kurtz, Colorado State University, “1999 Border War”

Television News Photography
Steve Riggs, Arizona State University, “Cord Blood”

Television Feature Photography
Dominic Bonelli, Ray Houghton, John Ostrowski and Matt Moore, Norwich University

Our American Journey: “Martha’s Vineyard”

Television Sports Photography
No award presented

Television Daily Newscast
NBC8 News Team, KOMU-TV, University of Missouri

Television Non-Daily Newscast
WKU NewsChannel 12, Western Kentucky University

The Society of Professional Journalists is the nation’s largest and most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior. Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press.

Join SPJ
Join SPJWhy join?